This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
RMG - corelist.pl uses HTTP::Tiny, not wget or curl
authorSteve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
Thu, 23 Aug 2012 07:52:00 +0000 (08:52 +0100)
committerSteve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
Thu, 23 Aug 2012 20:28:23 +0000 (21:28 +0100)
It also fetches files remotely even when using a local CPAN mirror if
the files are missing.

Porting/release_managers_guide.pod

index 6ce712f..1ffb76a 100644 (file)
@@ -551,10 +551,8 @@ I<blead> and subsequently cherry-pick any releases since the last
 maint release and then your recent commit.  XXX need a better example
 
 F<corelist.pl> uses ftp.funet.fi to verify information about dual-lived
-modules on CPAN. It can use a full, local CPAN mirror or fall back
-to C<wget> or C<curl> to fetch only package metadata remotely. (If you're
-on Win32, then installing Cygwin is one way to have commands like C<wget>
-and C<curl> available.)
+modules on CPAN. It can use a full, local CPAN mirror and/or fall back
+on HTTP::Tiny to fetch package metadata remotely.
 
 (If you'd prefer to have a full CPAN mirror, see 
 http://www.cpan.org/misc/cpan-faq.html#How_mirror_CPAN)