This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
POSIX.pod: Clarify strtod() text
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sat, 21 Dec 2019 21:36:19 +0000 (14:36 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Mon, 23 Dec 2019 14:28:42 +0000 (07:28 -0700)
ext/POSIX/lib/POSIX.pod

index 962ec1f..10e12e8 100644 (file)
@@ -1827,8 +1827,9 @@ may not check for overflow, and therefore will never set C<$!>.
 
 C<strtod> respects any POSIX C<setlocale()> C<LC_NUMERIC> settings,
 regardless of whether or not it is called from Perl code that is within
-the scope of S<C<use locale>>.  This means it should not be used in a
-threaded application unless it's certain that the underlying locale is C
+the scope of S<C<use locale>>.  Prior to Perl 5.28, or when operating in
+a non thread-safe environment, it should not be used in a threaded
+application unless it's certain that the underlying locale is C
 or POSIX.  This is because it otherwise changes the locale, which
 globally affects all threads simultaneously.