This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perlfunc: sort no longer dies on undef retval
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Thu, 13 Oct 2011 01:10:17 +0000 (18:10 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Thu, 13 Oct 2011 06:28:29 +0000 (23:28 -0700)
This changed in 5.12.0.  See bug #69384 and commit 93e19c0f.

pod/perlfunc.pod

index 246ad2e..bff6566 100644 (file)
@@ -6030,8 +6030,7 @@ sometimes saying the opposite, for example) the results are not
 well-defined.
 
 Because C<< <=> >> returns C<undef> when either operand is C<NaN>
-(not-a-number), and also because C<sort> raises an exception unless the
-result of a comparison is defined, be careful when sorting with a
+(not-a-number), be careful when sorting with a
 comparison function like C<< $a <=> $b >> any lists that might contain a
 C<NaN>.  The following example takes advantage that C<NaN != NaN> to
 eliminate any C<NaN>s from the input list.