This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
small improvements to documentation of IO::Socket
authorRicardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
Sat, 6 Jul 2013 19:26:01 +0000 (15:26 -0400)
committerRicardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
Sat, 6 Jul 2013 19:34:04 +0000 (15:34 -0400)
IO::Socket::INET's documentation for its Listen parameter was
somewhat misleading, and the documentation for IO::Socket::Unix
even more so.

See [perl #118713]

dist/IO/lib/IO/Socket/INET.pm
dist/IO/lib/IO/Socket/UNIX.pm

index 5af7030..4fa6a29 100644 (file)
@@ -15,7 +15,7 @@ use Exporter;
 use Errno;
 
 @ISA = qw(IO::Socket);
-$VERSION = "1.33";
+$VERSION = "1.34";
 
 my $EINVAL = exists(&Errno::EINVAL) ? Errno::EINVAL() : 1;
 
@@ -358,7 +358,8 @@ C<IO::Socket::INET> provides.
 
 If C<Listen> is defined then a listen socket is created, else if the
 socket type, which is derived from the protocol, is SOCK_STREAM then
-connect() is called.
+connect() is called.  If the C<Listen> argument is given, but false,
+the queue size will be set to 5.
 
 Although it is not illegal, the use of C<MultiHomed> on a socket
 which is in non-blocking mode is of little use. This is because the
index c6a10fe..4f3f898 100644 (file)
@@ -12,7 +12,7 @@ use IO::Socket;
 use Carp;
 
 @ISA = qw(IO::Socket);
-$VERSION = "1.24";
+$VERSION = "1.25";
 $VERSION = eval $VERSION;
 
 IO::Socket::UNIX->register_domain( AF_UNIX );
@@ -96,11 +96,12 @@ C<IO::Socket::UNIX> provides.
     Type       Type of socket (eg SOCK_STREAM or SOCK_DGRAM)
     Local      Path to local fifo
     Peer       Path to peer fifo
-    Listen     Create a listen socket
+    Listen     Queue size for listen
 
 If the constructor is only passed a single argument, it is assumed to
 be a C<Peer> specification.
 
+If the C<Listen> argument is given, but false, the queue size will be set to 5.
 
  NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE NOTE