This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Document GvSVn
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Thu, 27 Aug 2020 15:16:36 +0000 (09:16 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Tue, 6 Oct 2020 04:31:04 +0000 (22:31 -0600)
and fill in details about GvSV

gv.h

diff --git a/gv.h b/gv.h
index 36d7745..ddc48b9 100644 (file)
--- a/gv.h
+++ b/gv.h
@@ -78,6 +78,13 @@ struct gp {
 
 Return the SV from the GV.
 
+Prior to Perl v5.9.3, this would add a scalar if none existed.  Nowadays, use
+C<L</GvSVn>> for that, or compile perl with S<C<-DPERL_CREATE_GVSV>>.  See
+L<perl5100delta>.
+
+=for apidoc Am|SV*|GvSVn|GV* gv
+Like C<L</GvSV>>, but creates an empty scalar if none already exists.
+
 =for apidoc Am|AV*|GvAV|GV* gv
 
 Return the AV from the GV.