This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
add heading for perldelta
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Mon, 17 Jan 2011 15:49:18 +0000 (08:49 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Mon, 17 Jan 2011 16:20:11 +0000 (09:20 -0700)
pod/perldelta.pod

index 309604a..b1ea785 100644 (file)
@@ -26,10 +26,14 @@ XXX New core language features go here. Summarise user-visible core language
 enhancements. Particularly prominent performance optimisations could go
 here, but most should go in the L</Performance Enhancements> section.
 
+[ List each enhancement as a =head2 entry ]
+
+=head2 Any unsigned value can be encoded as a character
+
 With this release, Perl is adopting a model that any unsigned value can
-be encoded internally as utf8 without warnings -- not just the ones that
-are legal in Unicode.
-However, unless UTF8 warnings have been
+be treated as a code point and encoded internally (as utf8) without
+warnings -- not just the code points that are legal in Unicode.
+However, unless utf8 warnings have been
 explicitly lexically turned off, outputting or performing a
 Unicode-defined operation (such as upper-casing) on such a code point
 will generate a warning.  Attempting to input these using strict rules
@@ -41,7 +45,6 @@ standard, are now always legal internally.  But inputting or outputting
 them will work the same as for the non-legal Unicode code points, as the
 Unicode standard says they are illegal for "open interchange".
 
-[ List each enhancement as a =head2 entry ]
 
 =head1 Security