This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perlop: Update for some 5.14 changes
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Tue, 19 Apr 2011 03:42:18 +0000 (21:42 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Tue, 19 Apr 2011 03:45:10 +0000 (21:45 -0600)
pod/perlop.pod

index 3279e81..5dfecea 100644 (file)
@@ -1359,9 +1359,7 @@ true if it succeeds, false if it fails.  If no string is specified
 via the C<=~> or C<!~> operator, the $_ string is searched.  (The
 string specified with C<=~> need not be an lvalue--it may be the
 result of an expression evaluation, but remember the C<=~> binds
-rather tightly.)  See also L<perlre>.  See L<perllocale> for
-discussion of additional considerations that apply when C<use locale>
-is in effect.
+rather tightly.)  See also L<perlre>.
 
 Options are as described in C<qr//> above; in addition, the following match
 process modifiers are available:
@@ -1593,8 +1591,6 @@ at run-time.  If you want the pattern compiled only once the first time
 the variable is interpolated, use the C</o> option.  If the pattern
 evaluates to the empty string, the last successfully executed regular
 expression is used instead.  See L<perlre> for further explanation on these.
-See L<perllocale> for discussion of additional considerations that apply
-when C<use locale> is in effect.
 
 Options are as with m// with the addition of the following replacement
 specific options: