This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
utf8.c: Don't use Newx in decoding UTF-8
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Mon, 6 Mar 2017 19:25:21 +0000 (12:25 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Tue, 7 Mar 2017 17:49:14 +0000 (10:49 -0700)
commite9f2c446ed77eec13aad13748ac1b503b0cc3304
tree67d9361ee6a40a441663c8897b84156d511f72ed
parent8ef45c1894ac4415a7d048c2354037573d69a106
utf8.c: Don't use Newx in decoding UTF-8

The bottom level UTF-8 decoding routine can be used during periods when
using Newx is prohibited, as diagnosed by Dave Mitchell for perl #130921
(see that ticket for his explanation).

This particular use of Newx was unnecessary, as it is just large enough
to hold a single character, and that can be done by an automatic
variable on the C stack.  The variable is used only upon rare error
conditions, but its only 14 bytes (15 on EBCDIC).
utf8.c