This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Remove get-magic from $/
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sun, 8 Feb 2015 20:45:12 +0000 (12:45 -0800)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sun, 8 Feb 2015 22:53:11 +0000 (14:53 -0800)
commitddce084af02764d4f30ef6089ae67a7983fcc690
tree944bcec5805cb989ada4e52d0af81283d1d7fa04
parentdec5203ab08acacda6ed98fd23a8dc4e5b190239
Remove get-magic from $/

and use a different approach to prevent $/ from being set to a bad
value.

This should fix ticket #123739.  Commit v5.21.8-197-g5fe499a made
$/’s get-magic read PL_rs, so that the croak when setting $/ to a
bad value would not leave $/ with that bad value, in order to fix
bug #123218.

Some CPAN modules do not like $/ reading PL_rs that way.  So we
have to change this back.  I am not actually removing the get-
magic, but just making it a no-op, as it was before.  The set-
magic now sets $/ back to its previous value before croaking.
mg.c