This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Remove local $_ from Exporter
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sun, 11 Dec 2011 00:36:03 +0000 (16:36 -0800)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sun, 11 Dec 2011 00:39:43 +0000 (16:39 -0800)
commitda9127c72a244ecc246c9d82f152a4cbd318c4d6
tree28ed9c83a23adfaa67b1df63a1745c15551de2ef
parent36f9e82ca748a86d8532df4983b1bc2cb086fc98
Remove local $_ from Exporter

This was added in commit 732bb7c2d4f.

The changes in that commit did not necessitate the addition of
local $_.  So the localisation is wasting CPU cycles.  Worse, it
causes bugs in 5.12 and earlier.  (local $_ is always wrong if you
don’t control what is in $_ already, because it could be a read-only
tied variable.)  Actually, it causes bugs in 5.14-15 still, because
it seems that the changes to ‘local $_’ still weren’t sufficient (it
still calls FETCH, but not STORE).  That itself needs fixing, but that
should not obviate the need for this change, as Exporter has been liv-
ing a double life.
lib/Exporter.pm
lib/Exporter.t