This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
S_lossless_NV_to_IV(): skip Perl_isnan
authorDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Thu, 27 Aug 2020 16:08:03 +0000 (17:08 +0100)
committerDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Thu, 27 Aug 2020 16:21:12 +0000 (17:21 +0100)
commitcd304e76e0a975a4d5600077b2891ed469708009
treeef7325e698dd9c505361828f99bea6ca4324438d
parent8672d1554b3c704813a3bb693057e97ace01ffbe
S_lossless_NV_to_IV(): skip Perl_isnan

This inline function was added by v5.31.0-27-g3a019afd6f to consolidate
similar code in several places, like pp_add(). It also avoided undefined
behaviour, as seen by ASan, by no longer unconditionally trying to cast
an NV to IV - ASan would complain when nv was -Inf for example.

However that commit introduced a performance regression into common
numeric operators like pp_and(). This commit partially claws back
performance by skipping the initial test of 'skip if Nan' which called
Perl_isnan(). Instead, except on systems where NAN_COMPARE_BROKEN is
true, it relies on NaN being compared to anything always being false,
and simply rearranges existing conditions nv < IV_MIN etc to be
nv >= IV_MIN so that any NaN comparison will trigger a false return.

This claws back about half the performance loss. The rest seems
unavoidable, since the two range tests for IV_MIN..IV_MAX are an
unavoidable part of avoiding undefined behaviour.
inline.h