This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Allow ->@ ->$ interpolation under postderef_qq feature
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Mon, 16 Sep 2013 16:44:34 +0000 (09:44 -0700)
committerRicardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
Sat, 5 Oct 2013 18:20:10 +0000 (14:20 -0400)
commitcc624add4b00fb447b7fbbd045a9980d27c180e2
treeb715bb016205c8a2a44bc08f2ba1e721f6bae6af
parent158beccad252a25c107551be283bdc27e2729d29
Allow ->@ ->$ interpolation under postderef_qq feature

This turned out to be tricky.  Normally @ at the beginning of the
interpolated code signals to the lexer to emit ‘join($",’ immediately.
With "$_->@*" we would have to retract the $ _ -> tokens upon encoun-
tering @*, which we obviously cannot do.

Waiting until we reach the end of the interpolated text before emit-
ting anything could not work either, as it may contain BEGIN blocks
that affect the way part of the interpolated code is parsed.

So what we do is introduce an egregious or clever hack, depending on
how you look at it.

Normally, the lexer turns "@foo" into:

    stringify ( join ( $ " , @ foo ) )

(The " is a WORD token, representing a variable name.)

"$_" becomes:

    stringify ( $ _ )

We can turn "$_->@*" into:

    stringify ( $ _ -> @ * POSTJOIN )

Where POSTJOIN is a new lexer token with special handling that creates
a join op just the way join($", ...) does.

To make "foo$_->@*bar" work as well, we have to make POSTJOIN have
precedence just below ->, so that

    stringify ( "foo" . $ _ -> @ * POSTJOIN . "bar" )

(what the parser sees) is equivalent to:

    stringify ( "foo" . ( $ _ -> @ * POSTJOIN ) . "bar" )
parser.h
perly.act
perly.h
perly.tab
perly.y
t/op/postfixderef.t
toke.c