This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
[perl #119801] Stop @DB::dbline modifications from crashing
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Tue, 29 Oct 2013 04:59:14 +0000 (21:59 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sun, 22 Dec 2013 02:09:54 +0000 (18:09 -0800)
commitc1cec775e9019cc8ae244d4db239a7ea5c0b343e
treef2c2393343552b8a6e74bce1257e8770413d1839
parentbb02e0c10a57ab28b9ec6ca218c7aa6aac53a90c
[perl #119801] Stop @DB::dbline modifications from crashing

The cop address for each breakable line was being stored in the IVX
slot of ${"_<$file"}[$line].  This value itself, writable from Perl
space, was being used as the address of the op to be flagged, whenever
a breakpoint was set.

This meant writing to ${"_<$file"}[$line] and assigning a number (like
42) would cause perl to use 42 as an op address, and crash when trying
to flag the op.

Furthermore, since the array holding the lines could outlive the ops,
setting a breakpoint on the op could write to freed memory or to an
unrelated op (even a different type), potentially changing the beha-
viour of unrelated code.

This commit solves those pitfalls by moving breakpoints into a global
breakpoint bitfield.  Dbstate ops now have an extra field on the end
holding a sequence number, representing which bit holds the breakpoint
for that op.
cop.h
embedvar.h
mg.c
op.c
perlapi.h
perlvars.h
pp_ctl.c
t/run/switchd.t