This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Add a new env var PERL_RAND_SEED
authorYves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
Fri, 5 Aug 2022 11:18:02 +0000 (13:18 +0200)
committerYves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
Fri, 12 Aug 2022 20:29:05 +0000 (22:29 +0200)
commitbf2a3dae9f4f828fd1f2f8aaf4769f96520c9552
treeb58ad50f0d8d828bb5a890686e0ce7e82ae529ae
parent08da5deb5d0c842dab3fe5f4f5a450972a0eb67c
Add a new env var PERL_RAND_SEED

This env var can be used to trigger a repeatable run of a script which
calls C<srand()> with no arguments, either explicitly or implicitly
via use of C<rand()> prior to calling srand(). This is implemented in
such a way that calling C<srand()> with no arguments in forks or
subthreads (again explicitly or implicitly) will receive their own seed
but the seeds they receive will be repeatable.

This is intended for debugging and perl development performance testing,
and for running the test suite consistently. It is documented that the
exact seeds used to initialize the random state are unspecified, and
that they may change between releases or even builds. The only guarantee
provided is that the same perl executable will produce the same results
twice all other things being equal. In practice and in core testing we
do expect consistency, but adding the tightest set of restrictions on
our commitments seemed sensible.

The env var is ignored when perl is run setuid or setgid similarly to
the C<PERL_INTERNAL_RAND_SEED> env var.
19 files changed:
INSTALL
MANIFEST
dist/threads/t/thread.t
dist/threads/t/version.t
dist/threads/threads.xs
embedvar.h
handy.h
hv.c
intrpvar.h
perl.c
perl.h
pod/perldelta.pod
pod/perlfunc.pod
pod/perlrun.pod
pp.c
pp_sys.c
sv.c
t/op/srand.t
t/run/runenv_randseed.t [new file with mode: 0644]