This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
[perl #91508] __DATA__ starts reading on the next line
authorJohan Vromans <jvromans@squirrel.nl>
Tue, 24 May 2011 15:34:33 +0000 (08:34 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Tue, 24 May 2011 15:39:20 +0000 (08:39 -0700)
commitbbc73fd9d4a79a3c013fa67ca4cec4c514c014f1
tree2466529efed8b61be38ded1420b23983f2d638f1
parent7f83d853f68b2a948ba84fe2d4b69d0654c06619
[perl #91508] __DATA__ starts reading on the next line

In pod/perldata it is described that the DATA filehandle starts
reading after the __DATA__ token. In reality, it starts reading on the
line following the __DATA__ token.

Example:

print while <DATA>; __DATA__ foo
bar

This prints "bar", not "foo\nbar".

The attached patch fixes the documentation in pod/perldata.pod.
pod/perldata.pod