This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
VAX: code changes for VAX floats
authorJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Sun, 26 Jun 2016 02:14:41 +0000 (22:14 -0400)
committerJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Sat, 2 Jul 2016 00:43:12 +0000 (20:43 -0400)
commita7157111fed730f765c2c281a61bcde95bacc9ed
tree56c9a564cc9164b9c045fcdbbbc91ed4e92e9177
parentc183cd86045c09fcbba056a606ae50f11c9c5b5a
VAX: code changes for VAX floats

Mainly to avoid Inf and NaN, which VAX does does not have.

There is something like Inf called "excess" but that is
a deadly exception, seems to manifest itself in vax-netbsd
either as a SIGFPE or SIGSEGV (pretty much untrappable at
least from Perl level).

The range of VAX floats is different from IEEE.

There is positive zero, but no negative zero.
numeric.c
perl.h
pp_pack.c
sv.c