This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Add new hashing and "hash with state" infrastructure
authorYves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
Wed, 22 Mar 2017 15:40:28 +0000 (16:40 +0100)
committerYves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
Sun, 23 Apr 2017 09:44:17 +0000 (11:44 +0200)
commita3bf60fbb1f05cd2c69d4ff0a2ef99537afdaba7
treedcd0cbf4be0ef56b631affe55f775c6ed94452a9
parent05f97de032fe95cabe8c9f6d6c0a5897b1616194
Add new hashing and "hash with state" infrastructure

This adds support for three new hash functions: StadtX, Zaphod32 and SBOX,
and reworks some of our hash internals infrastructure to do so.

SBOX is special in that it is designed to be used in conjuction with any
other hash function for hashing short strings very efficiently and very
securely. It features compile time options on how much memory and startup
time are traded off to control the length of keys that SBOX hashes.

This also adds support for caching the hash values of single byte characters
which can be used in conjuction with any other hash, including SBOX, although
SBOX itself is as fast as the lookup cache, so typically you wouldnt use both
at the same time.

This also *removes* support for Jenkins One-At-A-Time. It has served us
well, but it's day is done.

This patch adds three new files: zaphod32_hash.h, stadtx_hash.h,
sbox32_hash.h
MANIFEST
embedvar.h
hv_func.h
perl.c
perlapi.h
perlvars.h
sbox32_hash.h [new file with mode: 0644]
stadtx_hash.h [new file with mode: 0644]
t/porting/globvar.t
zaphod32_hash.h [new file with mode: 0644]