This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Change 4 byte bitmap to 32 bit single word
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Fri, 7 Dec 2012 05:15:52 +0000 (22:15 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Sun, 9 Dec 2012 19:08:29 +0000 (12:08 -0700)
commit9cf78fa04cfee93425003b87b547dfa158d8fe9a
tree98b0333eaa250f8983d2ae0a1a6f269e86a58dab
parent3a371f2f46da7e5b93de3a1d3cccc9cf99d52c36
Change 4 byte bitmap to 32 bit single word

I presume that the reason this bitmap was expressed in bytes was that
the macros for dealing with that were already readily available and
familiar, and because it could easily be grown.

However, it's extremely unlikely that we would ever need more bits.
This bit map is for the Posix character classes, and no one is making
more of them.  There is currently one spare bit available, and if we
don't back out of the \s and [:space:] unification, a second will become
available in 5.20 or 5.22.

Using a single word is more efficient, so this changes to use that.
Should we ever need more bits, we can change back.
regcomp.c
regcomp.h