This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Teach perl about more locale categories
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 26 Jul 2017 14:59:33 +0000 (08:59 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 31 Jan 2018 05:28:41 +0000 (22:28 -0700)
commit9821811fe1a93f19deb209a286ad4fae53a3ebb1
treebe4556a0f985f7dbbc45853909208ae0aaaf0cdd
parent950cd4eeed2e6f1366eb4ae4e04d24454770c1cd
Teach perl about more locale categories

glibc has various other categories than the ones perl handles, for
example LC_PAPER.  This commit adds knowledge of these to perl, so that
one can set them, interrogate them, and have libraries work on them,
even though perl itself does not.

This is in preparation for future commits, where it becomes more
important than currently for perl to know about all the locale
categories on the system.

I looked through various other systems to try to find other categories,
but did not see any.  If a system does have such a category, it is
pretty easy to tell perl about it, and recompile.  Use the changes in
this commit as a template, and send an email to perlbug@perl.org, so
that the next Perl release will have it.
ext/POSIX/Makefile.PL
ext/POSIX/lib/POSIX.pm
ext/POSIX/t/export.t
locale.c
perl.h