This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
[perl #113576] Restore err msg for &{+undef}
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sat, 14 Jul 2012 01:16:43 +0000 (18:16 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Sat, 14 Jul 2012 02:58:59 +0000 (19:58 -0700)
commit79a3e5ea36208f2f54e36fa3a73c72808a6d0ad8
tree95c6a242ed27ebb6233eeeebf5e53c7bebd44e55
parentdd9a6ccfcb1b5e26680c14c1663ea9fac4480690
[perl #113576] Restore err msg for &{+undef}

This ‘Can't use an undefined value as a subroutine reference’ message
used to occur for &{+undef}, until commit 15ff848f77796 in 1997.

Then it started happening only for magic variables.

Non-magical variables would treat it the same as "", possibly dying
with ‘Undefined subroutine main:: called’, and possibly calling the
subroutine with that name.

Magical variables (&{$tied_undef}) started behaving the same way
(treating undef as "") with commit 7c75014e, in 2010.

This commit restores that message.
pp_hot.c
t/lib/croak/pp_hot
t/lib/warnings/9uninit