This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
PATCH: [perl #127599] Fix regcomp.c assertion
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 2 Mar 2016 17:50:01 +0000 (10:50 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 2 Mar 2016 18:07:57 +0000 (11:07 -0700)
commit77eddfe1ca901cdf5a01ed0f5b9f1db812410513
tree803a58978c88a2242148cc8f98f729f1f454ab3c
parentc24d0595c9166aecac9842f4195f1d967468fd5a
PATCH: [perl #127599] Fix regcomp.c assertion

I added this assertion in cfbef7dc3.  It asserts that we have more to
parse.  The code in this function is quite complicated, and assumes in a
number of places that there is more to parse.  When we don't have more
to parse, 900 lines later, it throws an error.  It may be that you can't
get to the places where it assumes there is more to parse if this
assertion is false (I don't remember now from my tedious audit of this
code), but even if so, it is fragile to assume so, given the large
distance to where the error is thrown.  So throw the error right away
and avoid any existing or future breakage.
regcomp.c
t/re/reg_mesg.t