This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
[perl #59908] \x, \0, and \N{} not ok in double-quotish when followed by > \x100
authorkarl williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Tue, 9 Dec 2008 04:59:05 +0000 (21:59 -0700)
committerRafael Garcia-Suarez <rgarciasuarez@gmail.com>
Thu, 15 Jan 2009 15:59:41 +0000 (16:59 +0100)
commit77a135fea310715f77af2560dd03830df874b5fa
tree4a036303d45e2123a8c5b3552a472fb00d3c5f0a
parente23621c75d209a8ee0c88579b09beccd0c4a5610
[perl #59908] \x, \0, and \N{} not ok in double-quotish when followed by > \x100

Attached is a patch for this problem.

The root cause was that S_scan_const() was not recoding to utf8 under
some circumstances when it should be.

I also changed it so that in all places, the flag that indicates the
output is in utf8 is changed from false to true if and only if the
destination is recoded to utf8.  One place was skipping this, and then
setting it unconditionally later on.

In one place in the routine, the routine had code to do the recoding
itself.  In the other places, it called sv_utf8_upgrade().  I changed it
to call the subroutine in all cases.

I fixed a bug that would appear only on EBCDIC machines where constants
of the form \N{U+....} would have been interpreted as EBCDIC.

And in inspecting the code, I realized there were problems with growing
the scalar value to fit the input.  I cleaned those up.

I also added a number of comments to document things I found out, and
changed some existing ones to be more accurate.

Since no one responded to my request for where to put the test cases,
and I couldn't figure out a good place to put them, I added a new test
file, t/uni/lex_utf8.t.
MANIFEST
t/uni/lex_utf8.t [new file with mode: 0644]
toke.c