This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Eliminate the fifth argument from GDBM_File::TIEHASH.
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Thu, 13 Dec 2012 16:06:26 +0000 (17:06 +0100)
committerNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Thu, 13 Dec 2012 16:13:35 +0000 (17:13 +0100)
commit708cce4f6b3b5d37df12460d4fa3dca84646cf8b
tree31ba3e389394d8e5c4b77aef2bd58e432b050c0b
parentceab7011c2af9d86bd7743d6c1b7c37540fe14f1
Eliminate the fifth argument from GDBM_File::TIEHASH.

This was intended to provide control of the callback used by gdbm* functions
in case of fatal errors (such as filesystem problems), but did not work (and
could never have worked). No code on CPAN even attempted to use it. The
callback is now always the previous default, croak.

This eliminates the only used of 'FATALFUNC' in the *DBM modules' type
files, so remove it from all of them.

It also eliminates a cast from a data pointer to a function pointer, which
is not legal C, and rightly upsets pedantic ANSI C compilers. The fact that
there was exactly cast, and only in one direction, gives a clue as to how
likely this was ever to work.
ext/GDBM_File/GDBM_File.xs
ext/GDBM_File/typemap
ext/NDBM_File/typemap
ext/ODBM_File/typemap
ext/SDBM_File/typemap