This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
void rather than empty parameter for Perl___notused.
authorCraig A. Berry <craigberry@mac.com>
Thu, 25 Aug 2011 22:16:13 +0000 (17:16 -0500)
committerCraig A. Berry <craigberry@mac.com>
Fri, 26 Aug 2011 01:47:59 +0000 (20:47 -0500)
commit64a8239ec9dfc1bed7de64084b6c65e6e05f72f5
tree5b432dc5b5e212ede02f68898ecf75a280eab347
parent766af94fb242a6c5b6f31e459ea7d2047c0ca242
void rather than empty parameter for Perl___notused.

Without this, the VMS compiler, with warnings cranked up to level 4,
emits pages and pages of things like:

    dVAR;
....^
%CC-I-NOPARMLIST, The declaration of the function Perl___notused has
an empty parameter list.  If the function has parameters, they should
be declared here; if it has no parameters, "void" should be specified
in the parameter list.
at line number 100 in file MDA0:[SMOKE.blead]perl.c;1

Over 2,000 of these plus other warnings yields a smoke report of 750K,
which is quite a bit over the 400K limit of the perl.org mailing lists,
not to mention being a slow read.
perl.h