This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Only handle PL_rs differently on VMS for record-oriented files.
authorCraig A. Berry <craigberry@mac.com>
Fri, 16 Mar 2012 19:20:29 +0000 (14:20 -0500)
committerTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Sat, 8 Dec 2012 22:32:47 +0000 (09:32 +1100)
commit596a6cbd6bcaa8e6a414f466dc748513439de5da
tree70ac616bfc70db709e19dd58c7ab2ca1f5e80986
parent265c4172cf0ecfa267652bbdb8e7fb7919f14656
Only handle PL_rs differently on VMS for record-oriented files.

For stream-oriented files, the effects of buffering and other
layers should be exactly as they are on other platforms. For true,
record-oriented files, though, setting $/ = \number must provide
exactly one low-level read per record.  If a read were ever to
return less than a full record (due to, for example, filling up
the perlio buffer), a subsequent read would get the *next* record,
losing whatever data remained in the partially-read record.
sv.c