This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
The AIX doubledouble longdouble has been left broken for three years.
authorJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Mon, 30 Oct 2017 05:19:18 +0000 (07:19 +0200)
committerJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Mon, 30 Oct 2017 05:30:00 +0000 (07:30 +0200)
commit4ea0a103754f8e4f9459019cb6f8750bde08cd2d
tree4a72b1f13077620a3e3d81c93be5f15cb0b88ef0
parent4faa3060d68eb0699c8448b308f611c244fbff09
The AIX doubledouble longdouble has been left broken for three years.

I must have left the test in the wrong position while
working on getting it to work, and never tested it since.
My apologies.

With this simple trick the following failing tests start to work.

        ../cpan/Math-Complex/t/Complex.t
        ../cpan/Math-Complex/t/Trig.t
        ../cpan/Math-Complex/t/underbar.t
        ../cpan/Scalar-List-Utils/t/uniq.t
        ../ext/POSIX/t/math.t
        ../lib/warnings.t
        op/sprintf2.t
        op/time.t

Or rather, the broken part of the functionality, Infinity,
starts being avoided, as it should be.  See the comment above
about the known brokenness of long doubles and infinity in AIX.

Note that even after this fix the following are still broken in
this AIX (the perl5 aix machine), but these are unrelated to infnan:

        ../cpan/ExtUtils-MakeMaker/t/03-xsstatic.t
        ../dist/Storable/t/store.t
        ../ext/XS-APItest/t/handy00.t
        re/uniprops01.t
        re/uniprops02.t
        re/uniprops03.t
        re/uniprops04.t
        re/uniprops05.t
        re/uniprops06.t
        re/uniprops07.t
        re/uniprops08.t
        re/uniprops09.t
        re/uniprops10.t

(as of blead 4faa3060)
hints/aix.sh