This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
better POD for mg_get and SvGROW
authorDaniel Dragan <bulk88@hotmail.com>
Tue, 11 Dec 2012 19:01:54 +0000 (14:01 -0500)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:23:59 +0000 (16:23 -0800)
commit4b1e7f06143ab88e9b000eed23ae71e75b7c24b8
treeedc372a70959319a44c89afad2386c72286ec768
parentd2192f4f82773968f8eb344c3b3b3836b271aa06
better POD for mg_get and SvGROW

SvGROW unconditionally derefs SvANY to check SvLEN. A crash occurs if the
sv is SVt_NULL. Also mg_get uses SvMAGIC which also has the same problem.
Rather than having people finding these properties out by trial and error,
document them. There is no sense in adding type checks since these 2 calls
have been had sv type restrictions since probably day 1 and for
performance reason. Anyone who hit the restrictions would have either
fixed their code immediately, or abandoned using XS. I observed someone
abandoning XS in the field over these undocumented restrictions.
mg.c
sv.h