This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
gmtime/localtime are busted around 2**48
authorMichael G Schwern <schwern@pobox.com>
Sun, 31 Jan 2010 10:53:43 +0000 (02:53 -0800)
committerH.Merijn Brand <h.m.brand@xs4all.nl>
Sun, 31 Jan 2010 11:46:14 +0000 (12:46 +0100)
commit455f2c6c92e42c1a9e31268cbd491ba661f99882
tree67c43ffb262f4158b0744b1af2818436ad43030e
parentb224edc1e71fa31c9529c6a3951b807564b5d78a
gmtime/localtime are busted around 2**48

Michael G Schwern wrote:
> Anyhow, I'm willing to let that drop, but I want figure out A) why its
> failing so early because it might be masking a bug, this is not
> predicted behavior, and most importantly B) to get it to error, or at
> least warn.
>
> I know B is possible, I did it for Time::y2038.  I'll figure that part
> out and try to dig into A.  I would like to call B a blocker for 5.12.

Found the bug, patch attached.

v_tm_tday is an NV, so casting time to an integer will cause an overflow
2**31 days after 1970 or somewhere between 2**47 and 2**48.  Not sure why the
compiler didn't warn about that.

This makes it work until the year overflows.

As for putting in a warning, there's two options:
1) A few days before the 32 bit year overflows.
2) At some reasonable point before there's too much floating point inaccuracy.

The possibility of long doubles will make #2 difficult to nail down, but I'll
be happy with +/- 2**53.

--
24. Must not tell any officer that I am smarter than they are, especially
     if it's true.
     -- The 213 Things Skippy Is No Longer Allowed To Do In The U.S. Army
            http://skippyslist.com/list/

From 9e940e610ac5b2fbb09a554f505963094a4a0745 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Michael G. Schwern <schwern@pobox.com>
Date: Sun, 31 Jan 2010 02:24:50 -0800
Subject: [PATCH] Type conversion bug in gmtime64 that was causing it to crap out around 2**48

Signed-off-by: H.Merijn Brand <h.m.brand@xs4all.nl>
time64.c