This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
grok_bin_oct_hex: Add two output flags
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 15 Jan 2020 12:05:42 +0000 (05:05 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 19 Jan 2020 16:57:31 +0000 (09:57 -0700)
commit3f8c4d7479702f0eb269a85fecd74f47120b00f0
tree74adfad136a17714bbbce258bdf582f74fe2085b
parentd2b59011c8b747a21b7611c7b2c2a3a708449b88
grok_bin_oct_hex: Add two output flags

This commit adds two output flags returned from this function to the one
previously existing, so that the caller can be informed of the problems
found and take its own action.

This involves the behavior of two existing flags, whose being set
suppresses the warning if particular conditions exist in the input being
parsed.  Both flags were currently always cleared upon return.

One of those flags is non-public.  I changed it so that it isn't cleared
upon return if the condition it describes is found.

The other flag is public.  I thought that some existing code, though
unlikely,  might be relying on the flag being always cleared.  So I
added a completely new flag from a previously unused bit that, if clear
on input there is no change in behavior; but if set on input, it will
remain set on output if the condition is met; otherwise cleared.  The
only code that could possibly be affected is that which sets this unused
bit, but expects it to be cleared after the return.  This is very
unlikely.
numeric.c
perl.h