This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
regcomp.c: Split function into two functions
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Mon, 21 Sep 2015 03:25:13 +0000 (21:25 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 11 Oct 2015 16:48:31 +0000 (10:48 -0600)
commit3e699fa01bec7dca385966fb2e0bd8150ad039b6
treeb1d7c07f8c0c3c2745a917f327ca77fd3130b843
parentf400bbf00eccb191120b1fd72ccece07f2f3e1c1
regcomp.c: Split function into two functions

Sometimes we want to move to the next non-ignored character in the
input.  The nextchar() function does that (but buggily in UTF-8).

And sometimes we are already at the next character, but if it is one
that should be ignored, we want to move to the first one that isn't.
This commit creates a function to do the second task by extracting the
code in nextchar() to it, and making nextchar() a lightweight wrapper
around it, and hence likely to be optimized out by the compiler.

This is a step in the direction of fixing the UTF-8 problems with
nextchar(), and fixing some other bugs.  The new function has added
generality which won't be used until a later commit.
embed.fnc
embed.h
proto.h
regcomp.c