This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Forbid out of range Unicode code points.
authorAbigail <abigail@abigail.be>
Tue, 6 Jun 2017 16:51:37 +0000 (18:51 +0200)
committerAbigail <abigail@abigail.be>
Tue, 6 Jun 2017 16:56:51 +0000 (18:56 +0200)
commit13f4dd346e6f3b61534a20f246de3a80b3feb743
treec6b275523eba7ecdb0571fdb0880c20f3f3d4179
parent117c08bff362aadf9f1826edcf50f7b0bebeba10
Forbid out of range Unicode code points.

Unicode allows code points up to 0x10FFFF, but Perl allows much more.
However, code points above IV_MAX may not always work correctly, and
may even cause the interpreter to hang. Code points exceeding IV_MAX
have been deprecated since 5.24, and will be illegal in 5.28.

This commit removes many tests (without replacing them) as they were
testing behaviour of code points exceeding IV_MAX.
ext/XS-APItest/t/utf8.t
t/lib/warnings/pp
t/lib/warnings/utf8
t/op/bop.t
t/op/chop.t
t/op/ver.t
t/re/pat_advanced.t
utf8.c