This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Deprecate /\C/
authorDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Thu, 3 Jul 2014 15:08:56 +0000 (16:08 +0100)
committerDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Thu, 3 Jul 2014 15:16:07 +0000 (16:16 +0100)
commit0f2d63091dedddc38daad0029e097295a76b2e7f
tree82cf018dfc265cbf4cd838ac98ee8ed70c4dbe3b
parent5b597d1b365fbf7a687e61304bddd619bc3a53dd
Deprecate /\C/

This character class matches a single byte within a multi-byte utf8 char,
and so breaks encapsulation. It is buggy, and can corrupt utf8 strings.

This deprecation was agreed in the thread starting

http://nntp.perl.org/group/perl.perl5.porters/210621
dist/Filter-Simple/lib/Filter/Simple.pm
ext/XS-APItest/t/callregexec.t
pod/perldiag.pod
regcomp.c
t/lib/Cname.pm
t/op/bop.t
t/re/pat_advanced.t
t/re/pat_rt_report.t