This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Make File::Glob::csh_glob consisent wrt '"\
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Mon, 24 Oct 2011 23:03:55 +0000 (16:03 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Mon, 24 Oct 2011 23:32:23 +0000 (16:32 -0700)
commit0b0e6d70fad47cd67e69fd39ca89beb755332502
treeb09a776419cc2289edf00f77d45ec754b72b2a36
parent9913adee522ad312f60d0f24722d0144ffb12656
Make File::Glob::csh_glob consisent wrt '"\

File::Glob::csh_glob, which is the routine implementing Perl’s own
glob function, is not consistent in its treatment of quotation marks
and backslashes.  It differs depending on whether there are white-
space characters in the pattern both preceded and followed by non-
whitespace.

Without whitespace, quotation marks are treated literally and back-
slashes are treated as escapes that cause metacharacters to be treated
literally.  So

    <"foo*">

looks for files with literal quotation marks in their name.

With whitespace, quotation marks are treated as word delimiters, so

    <"foo copy*">

will find file names matching /^foo copy/.  Backslash escapes are pro-
cessed twice, so one has to write

    glob '\\\** .\\\**'

to find files beginning with a literal ‘*’ or ‘.*’.  But simply

    glob '\**'

to find files beginning with ‘*’.  (Note that <> is a double-quotish
operator, so in <> those would have to be quadruple and double back-
slashes, respectively.)

There are two problems with the code:

1) Text::Parsewords is only used when there is whitespace present.  It
   should be used also for quotation marks, too, if they exist.
2) Text::Parsewords should not be removing backslash escapes.
3) Actually, there’s a third.  A final escaped space should also go
   through Text::ParseWords, instead of being stripped.

This commit fixes both things.
ext/File-Glob/Glob.pm
ext/File-Glob/t/basic.t