This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
op/lex_assign.t: fix intermittent failures
authorDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Tue, 7 Jun 2016 16:41:20 +0000 (17:41 +0100)
committerDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Tue, 7 Jun 2016 16:48:20 +0000 (17:48 +0100)
commit078428fed963149aed67dec970b15c2e94c9bb69
tree9fe42946adf59cdddeb35886cda7c53dd2920b04
parente6404dcec492d26d3bf483b36a4a0a3211f23634
op/lex_assign.t: fix intermittent failures

The bulk of this test script tests whether ops which are capable of
the OA_TARGLEX optimisation return the same results with lexical and
package var assignments, i.e.

    my $a;
    $a = OP;
    $b = OP;
    is($a,$b);

When OP is 'time', the two calls can return different times, resulting in
occasional intermittent failures. So move time into it's custom test which
can cope with a delta of 1.

Similarly if the op is <*>, parallel testing can result in temporary files
appearing in the current directory, resulting in different returns.
However, since glob doesn't actually have the 'T' (OA_TARGLEX) set in
regen/opcodes, this test is moot - so skip it.

If glob ever does ever get OA_TARGLEX, and so need to be tested, it may
require some subtlety, such as globbing for a pattern that won't match any
temporary files.
t/op/lex_assign.t