This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Tick off release
[perl5.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.26
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.25.X series)
17
18   2016-12-20  5.25.8          Contentious changes freeze
19   2017-01-20  5.25.9          User-visible changes to correctly
20                               functioning programs freeze
21   2017-02-20  5.25.10         Full code freeze
22   2017-03-20  5.25.11         Full code freeze
23   2017-04-20  5.26.0          Stable release!
24
25 =head2 Perl 5.24
26
27   2016-05-09  5.24.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
28   2017-01-14  5.24.1 ✓        Steve Hay
29   2017-02-??  5.24.2          Steve Hay
30
31 =head2 Perl 5.22
32
33   2015-06-01  5.22.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
34   2015-12-13  5.22.1 ✓        Steve Hay
35   2016-04-29  5.22.2 ✓        Steve Hay
36   2017-01-14  5.22.3 ✓        Steve Hay
37   2017-02-??  5.22.4          Steve Hay
38
39 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
40
41 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
42 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
43 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
44 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
45
46 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
47 B<must> consent to ship the release.
48
49 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
50 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
51 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
52
53 =head2 Perl 5.25
54
55   2016-04-08  5.25.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
56   2016-05-20  5.25.1 ✓        Sawyer X
57   2016-06-20  5.25.2 ✓        Matthew Horsfall
58   2016-07-20  5.25.3 ✓        Steve Hay
59   2016-08-20  5.25.4 ✓        BinGOs
60   2016-09-20  5.25.5 ✓        Stevan Little
61   2016-10-20  5.25.6 ✓        Aaron Crane
62   2016-11-20  5.25.7 ✓        Chad Granum
63   2016-12-20  5.25.8 ✓        Sawyer X
64   2017-01-20  5.25.9 ✓        Abigail
65   2017-02-20  5.25.10 ✓       Renée Bäcker
66   2017-03-20  5.25.11 ✓       Sawyer X
67
68 (RC0 for 5.26.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
69 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
70
71 =head1 VICTIMS
72
73 The following porters have all consented to do at least
74 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
75 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
76
77 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
78 consent of the Pumpking.)
79
80   Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
81   Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
82   Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
83   Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
84   Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
85   Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
86   David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
87   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
88   Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
89   Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
90   Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
91   Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
92   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
93   Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
94   Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
95   Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
96   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
97   Stevan Little <stevan@cpan.org>
98   Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
99   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
100   Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
101   Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
102   Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
103   Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
104
105 =head1 AUTHOR
106
107 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
108
109 =cut