This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Tick off 5.24.4 and 5.26.2
[perl5.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.28
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.27.X series)
17
18   2018-02-20  5.27.9          Contentious changes freeze
19   2018-03-20  5.27.10         User-visible changes to correctly
20                               functioning programs freeze
21   2018-04-20  5.27.11         Full code freeze
22   2018-05-20  5.28.0          Stable release!
23
24 =head2 Perl 5.26
25
26   2017-05-30  5.26.0 ✓        Sawyer X
27   2017-09-22  5.26.1 ✓        Steve Hay
28   2018-04-14  5.26.2 ✓        Steve Hay
29
30 =head2 Perl 5.24
31
32   2016-05-09  5.24.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
33   2017-01-14  5.24.1 ✓        Steve Hay
34   2017-07-15  5.24.2 ✓        Steve Hay
35   2017-09-22  5.24.3 ✓        Steve Hay
36   2018-04-14  5.24.4 ✓        Steve Hay
37
38 =head2 Perl 5.22
39
40   2015-06-01  5.22.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
41   2015-12-13  5.22.1 ✓        Steve Hay
42   2016-04-29  5.22.2 ✓        Steve Hay
43   2017-01-14  5.22.3 ✓        Steve Hay
44   2017-07-15  5.22.4 ✓        Steve Hay
45
46 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
47
48 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
49 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
50 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
51 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
52
53 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
54 B<must> consent to ship the release.
55
56 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
57 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
58 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
59
60 =head2 Perl 5.27
61
62   2017-05-31  5.27.0 ✓        Sawyer X
63   2017-06-20  5.27.1 ✓        Eric Herman
64   2017-07-20  5.27.2 ✓        Aaron Crane
65   2017-08-20  5.27.3 ✓        Matthew Horsfall
66   2017-09-20  5.27.4 ✓        John Anderson
67   2017-10-20  5.27.5 ✓        Steve Hay
68   2017-11-20  5.27.6 ✓        Karen Etheridge
69   2017-12-20  5.27.7 ✓        BinGOs
70   2018-01-20  5.27.8 ✓        Abigail
71   2018-02-20  5.27.9 ✓        Renee Bäcker
72   2018-03-20  5.27.10 ✓       Todd Rinaldo
73   2018-04-20  5.27.11         Sawyer X
74
75 (RC0 for 5.28.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
76 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
77
78 =head1 VICTIMS
79
80 The following porters have all consented to do at least
81 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
82 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
83
84 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
85 consent of the Pumpking.)
86
87   Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
88   Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
89   Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
90   Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
91   Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
92   Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
93   David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
94   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
95   Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
96   Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
97   Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
98   Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
99   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
100   Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
101   Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
102   Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
103   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
104   Stevan Little <stevan@cpan.org>
105   Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
106   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
107   Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
108   Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
109   Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
110   Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
111
112 =head1 AUTHOR
113
114 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
115
116 =cut