This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
cb4589e161c703d988a78f126c97ad81a1a43f75
[perl5.git] / dist / Storable / README
1                          Storable 2.14
2                Copyright (c) 1995-2000, Raphael Manfredi
3                Copyright (c) 2001-2004, Larry Wall
4
5 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
6     This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
7     it under the same terms as Perl 5 itself.
8
9     This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
10     but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
11     MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
12     Perl 5 License schemes for more details.
13 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
14
15 +=======================================================================
16 | Storable is distributed as a module, but is also part of the official
17 | Perl core distribution, as of perl 5.8. 
18 | Maintenance is now done by the perl5-porters.  We thank Raphael
19 | Manfredi for providing us with this very useful module.
20 +=======================================================================
21
22 The Storable extension brings persistency to your data.
23
24 You may recursively store to disk any data structure, no matter how
25 complex and circular it is, provided it contains only SCALAR, ARRAY,
26 HASH (possibly tied) and references (possibly blessed) to those items.
27
28 At a later stage, or in another program, you may retrieve data from
29 the stored file and recreate the same hiearchy in memory. If you
30 had blessed references, the retrieved references are blessed into
31 the same package, so you must make sure you have access to the
32 same perl class than the one used to create the relevant objects.
33
34 There is also a dclone() routine which performs an optimized mirroring
35 of any data structure, preserving its topology.
36
37 Objects (blessed references) may also redefine the way storage and
38 retrieval is performed, and/or what deep cloning should do on those
39 objects.
40
41 To compile this extension, run:
42
43     perl Makefile.PL [PERL_SRC=...where you put perl sources...]
44     make
45     make install
46
47 There is an embeded POD manual page in Storable.pm.
48
49 Storable was written by Raphael Manfredi <Raphael_Manfredi@pobox.com>
50 Maitainance is now done by the perl5-porters <perl5-porters@perl.org>
51
52 Please e-mail us with problems, bug fixes, comments and complaints,
53 although if you have complements you should send them to Raphael.
54 Please don't e-mail Raphael with problems, as he no longer works on
55 Storable, and your message will be delayed while he forwards it to us.
56
57 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
58 Thanks to (in chronological order):
59
60     Jarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
61     Ulrich Pfeifer <pfeifer@charly.informatik.uni-dortmund.de>
62     Benjamin A. Holzman <bah@ecnvantage.com>
63     Andrew Ford <A.Ford@ford-mason.co.uk>
64     Gisle Aas <gisle@aas.no>
65     Jeff Gresham <gresham_jeffrey@jpmorgan.com>
66     Murray Nesbitt <murray@activestate.com>
67     Albert N. Micheev <Albert.N.Micheev@f80.n5049.z2.fidonet.org>
68     Marc Lehmann <pcg@opengroup.org>
69     Justin Banks <justinb@wamnet.com>
70     Jarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi> (AGAIN, as perl 5.7.0 Pumpkin!)
71
72 for their contributions.
73
74 A Japanese translation of this man page is available at the Japanized
75 Perl Resources Project <https://sourceforge.jp/projects/perldocjp/>.
76 ------------------------------------------------------------------------
77
78 The perl5-porters would like to thank
79
80     Raphael Manfredi <Raphael_Manfredi@pobox.com>
81
82 According to the perl5.8 Changes file, the following people have helped
83 bring you this Storable release:
84
85     Abhijit Menon-Sen <ams@wiw.org>
86     Andreas J. Koenig <andreas.koenig@anima.de>
87     Archer Sully <archer@meer.net>
88     Craig A. Berry <craig.berry@psinetcs.com>
89     Dan Kogai <dankogai@dan.co.jp>
90     Doug MacEachern <dougm@covalent.net>
91     Gurusamy Sarathy <gsar@ActiveState.com>
92     H.Merijn Brand <h.m.brand@xs4all.nl>
93     Jarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
94     Mark Bixby
95     Michael Stevens <michael@etla.org>
96     Mike Guy <mjtg@cam.ac.uk>
97     Nicholas Clark <nick@unfortu.net>
98     Peter J. Farley III <pjfarley@banet.net>
99     Peter Prymmer <pvhp@forte.com>
100     Philip Newton <pne@cpan.org>
101     Raphael Manfredi <Raphael_Manfredi@pobox.com>
102     Robin Barker <rmb1@cise.npl.co.uk>
103     Radu Greab <radu@netsoft.ro>
104     Tim Bunce <Tim.Bunce@pobox.com>
105     VMSperlers
106     Yitzchak Scott-Thoennes <sthoenna@efn.org>
107
108 If I've missed you out, please accept my apologies, and e-mail your
109 patch to perl5-porters@perl.org.