This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
bd428073cb3559a94d245dc01c13d174e7b2083e
[perl5.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with all question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.20
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.19.X series)
17
18   2014-01-20  5.19.8          Contentious changes freeze
19   2014-02-20  5.19.9          User-visible changes freeze
20   2014-03-20  5.19.10         Full code freeze
21   2014-05-20  5.20.0          Stable release!
22
23 =head2 Perl 5.18
24
25 Release schedule (with release manager):
26
27   2013-05-18  5.18.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
28   2013-07-??  5.18.1          Ricardo Signes
29   2013-11-??  5.18.2          Ricardo Signes
30
31 (RC0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
32 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
33
34 =head2 Perl 5.16
35
36 Release schedule (with release managers):
37
38   2012-05-20  5.16.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
39   2012-08-08  5.16.1 ✓        Ricardo Signes
40   2012-11-01  5.16.2 ✓        Ricardo Signes
41   2013-03-11  5.16.3 ✓        Ricardo Signes
42   ????-??-??  5.16.4          ??
43
44 =head2 Perl 5.14
45
46 Release schedule (with release managers):
47
48   2011-05-14  5.14.0 (final)  Jesse Vincent
49   2011-06-16  5.14.1 ✓        Jesse Vincent
50   2011-09-14  5.14.2 ✓        Florian Ragwitz
51   2012-10-12  5.14.3 ✓        Dominic Hargreaves
52   2013-03-10  5.14.4 ✓        David Mitchell
53   ????-??-??  5.14.5          ??
54
55 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
56
57 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
58 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
59 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
60 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
61
62 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
63 B<must> consent to ship the release.
64
65 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
66 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
67 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
68
69 =head2 Perl 5.19
70
71   2013-05-20  5.19.0          Ricardo Signes
72   2013-06-20  5.19.1          David Golden
73   2013-07-20  5.19.2          Aristotle Pagaltzis
74   2013-08-20  5.19.3          Steve Hay
75   2013-09-20  5.19.4
76   2013-10-20  5.19.5
77   2013-11-20  5.19.6
78   2013-12-20  5.19.7
79
80 =head1 VICTIMS
81
82 The following porters have all consented to do at least
83 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
84 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
85
86 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
87 consent of the Pumpking.)
88
89 Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
90 Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
91 Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
92 Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
93 Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
94 Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
95 David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
96 Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
97 Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
98 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
99 Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
100 Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
101 Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
102 Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
103 Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
104 Stevan Little <stevan.little@iinteractive.com>
105 Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
106 Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
107 Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
108 Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
109 Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
110 Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
111
112 =head1 AUTHOR
113
114 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
115
116 =cut