This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
a04606facdeb4b93aac7a1f1b9f03384b00c65d6
[perl5.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.32
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.31.X series)
17
18   2020-01-20  5.31.8 ✓        Contentious changes freeze
19   2020-02-20  5.31.9 ✓        User-visible changes to correctly
20                               functioning programs freeze
21   2020-03-20  5.31.10 ✓       Full code freeze
22   2020-04-20  5.31.11 ✓       Full code freeze (clearing BBCs)
23   2020-05-20  5.32.0          Stable release! (Hopefully)
24
25 =head2 Perl 5.30
26
27   2019-05-22  5.30.0 ✓        Sawyer X
28   2019-11-10  5.30.1 ✓        Steve Hay
29   2020-03-14  5.30.2 ✓        Steve Hay
30
31 =head2 Perl 5.28
32
33   2018-05-20  5.28.0 ✓        Sawyer X
34   2018-11-29  5.28.1 ✓        Steve Hay
35   2019-04-19  5.28.2 ✓        Steve Hay
36
37 =head2 Perl 5.26
38
39   2017-05-30  5.26.0 ✓        Sawyer X
40   2017-09-22  5.26.1 ✓        Steve Hay
41   2018-04-14  5.26.2 ✓        Steve Hay
42   2018-11-29  5.26.3 ✓        Steve Hay
43
44 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
45
46 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
47 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
48 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
49 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
50
51 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
52 B<must> consent to ship the release.
53
54 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
55 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
56 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
57
58 =head2 Perl 5.31
59
60   2019-05-23  5.31.0 ✓       Sawyer X
61   2019-06-20  5.31.1 ✓       Karen Etheridge
62   2019-07-20  5.31.2 ✓       Steve Hay
63   2019-08-20  5.31.3 ✓       Tom Hukins
64   2019-09-20  5.31.4 ✓       Max Maischein
65   2019-10-20  5.31.5 ✓       Steve Hay
66   2019-11-20  5.31.6 ✓       BinGOs
67   2019-12-20  5.31.7 ✓       Atoomic
68   2020-01-20  5.31.8 ✓       Matthew Horsfall
69   2020-02-20  5.31.9 ✓       Renee Bäcker
70   2020-03-20  5.31.10 ✓      Sawyer X
71   2020-04-20  5.31.11        Sawyer X
72
73 (RC0 for 5.32.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
74 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
75
76 =head1 VICTIMS
77
78 The following porters have all consented to do at least
79 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
80 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
81
82 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
83 consent of the Pumpking.)
84
85   Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
86   Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
87   Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
88   Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
89   Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
90   Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
91   David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
92   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
93   Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
94   Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
95   Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
96   Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
97   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
98   Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
99   Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
100   Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
101   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
102   Stevan Little <stevan@cpan.org>
103   Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
104   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
105   Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
106   Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
107   Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
108   Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
109
110 =head1 AUTHOR
111
112 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
113
114 =cut