This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
656b137ea51368241a7a2f415b36a73d20e2765d
[perl5.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.28
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.27.X series)
17
18   2017-12-20  5.27.8          Contentious changes freeze
19   2018-01-20  5.27.9          User-visible changes to correctly
20                               functioning programs freeze
21   2018-02-20  5.27.10         Full code freeze
22   2018-04-20  5.28.0          Stable release!
23
24 =head2 Perl 5.26
25
26   2017-05-30  5.26.0 ✓        Sawyer X
27
28 =head2 Perl 5.24
29
30   2016-05-09  5.24.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
31   2017-01-14  5.24.1 ✓        Steve Hay
32   2017-02-??  5.24.2          Steve Hay
33
34 =head2 Perl 5.22
35
36   2015-06-01  5.22.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
37   2015-12-13  5.22.1 ✓        Steve Hay
38   2016-04-29  5.22.2 ✓        Steve Hay
39   2017-01-14  5.22.3 ✓        Steve Hay
40   2017-02-??  5.22.4          Steve Hay
41
42 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
43
44 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
45 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
46 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
47 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
48
49 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
50 B<must> consent to ship the release.
51
52 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
53 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
54 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
55
56 =head2 Perl 5.27
57
58   2017-05-31  5.27.0 ✓        Sawyer X
59   2017-06-20  5.27.1          Eric Herman
60   2017-07-20  5.27.2          Aaron Crane
61   2017-08-20  5.27.3          Matthew Horsfall
62   2017-09-20  5.27.4          John Anderson
63   2017-10-20  5.27.5          Steve Hay
64   2017-11-20  5.27.6          Karen Etheridge
65   2017-12-20  5.27.7          BinGOs
66   2018-01-20  5.27.8          Abigail
67   2018-02-20  5.27.9          ?
68   2018-03-20  5.27.10         ?
69
70 (RC0 for 5.28.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
71 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
72
73 =head1 VICTIMS
74
75 The following porters have all consented to do at least
76 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
77 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
78
79 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
80 consent of the Pumpking.)
81
82   Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
83   Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
84   Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
85   Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
86   Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
87   Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
88   David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
89   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
90   Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
91   Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
92   Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
93   Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
94   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
95   Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
96   Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
97   Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
98   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
99   Stevan Little <stevan@cpan.org>
100   Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
101   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
102   Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
103   Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
104   Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
105   Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
106
107 =head1 AUTHOR
108
109 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
110
111 =cut