This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Ensure same count of tests on different OSes.
[perl5.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.30
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.29.X series)
17
18   2019-02-20  5.29.8          Contentious changes freeze
19   2019-03-20  5.29.9          User-visible changes to correctly
20                               functioning programs freeze
21   2019-04-20  5.29.10         Full code freeze
22   2019-05-20  5.30.0          Stable release!
23
24 =head2 Perl 5.28
25
26   2018-05-20  5.28.0 ✓        Sawyer X
27
28 =head2 Perl 5.26
29
30   2017-05-30  5.26.0 ✓        Sawyer X
31   2017-09-22  5.26.1 ✓        Steve Hay
32   2018-04-14  5.26.2 ✓        Steve Hay
33
34 =head2 Perl 5.24
35
36   2016-05-09  5.24.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
37   2017-01-14  5.24.1 ✓        Steve Hay
38   2017-07-15  5.24.2 ✓        Steve Hay
39   2017-09-22  5.24.3 ✓        Steve Hay
40   2018-04-14  5.24.4 ✓        Steve Hay
41
42 =head2 Perl 5.22
43
44   2015-06-01  5.22.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
45   2015-12-13  5.22.1 ✓        Steve Hay
46   2016-04-29  5.22.2 ✓        Steve Hay
47   2017-01-14  5.22.3 ✓        Steve Hay
48   2017-07-15  5.22.4 ✓        Steve Hay
49
50 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
51
52 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
53 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
54 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
55 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
56
57 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
58 B<must> consent to ship the release.
59
60 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
61 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
62 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
63
64 =head2 Perl 5.29
65
66   2018-06-26  5.29.0 ✓        Sawyer X
67   2018-07-20  5.29.1 ✓        Steve Hay
68   2018-08-20  5.29.2 ✓        Chris BinGOs Williams
69   2018-09-20  5.29.3 ✓        John Anderson (genehack)
70   2018-10-20  5.29.4 ✓        Aaron Crane
71   2018-11-20  5.29.5          Karen Etheridge (ether)
72   2018-12-20  5.29.6          Abigail
73   2019-01-20  5.29.7          Abigail
74   2019-02-20  5.29.8
75   2019-03-20  5.29.9
76   2019-04-20  5.29.10
77
78 (RC0 for 5.30.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
79 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
80
81 =head1 VICTIMS
82
83 The following porters have all consented to do at least
84 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
85 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
86
87 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
88 consent of the Pumpking.)
89
90   Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
91   Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
92   Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
93   Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
94   Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
95   Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
96   David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
97   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
98   Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
99   Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
100   Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
101   Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
102   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
103   Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
104   Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
105   Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
106   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
107   Stevan Little <stevan@cpan.org>
108   Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
109   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
110   Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
111   Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
112   Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
113   Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
114
115 =head1 AUTHOR
116
117 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
118
119 =cut