This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
release schedule: placeholders for the future
[perl5.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with all question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.20
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.19.X series)
17
18   2014-01-20  5.19.8          Contentious changes freeze
19   2014-02-20  5.19.9          User-visible changes freeze
20   2014-03-20  5.19.10         Full code freeze
21   2014-05-20  5.20.0          Stable release!
22
23 =head2 Perl 5.18
24
25 Release schedule (with release manager):
26
27   2013-05-18  5.18.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
28   2013-08-12  5.18.1 ✓        Ricardo Signes
29   2013-11-??  5.18.2          Ricardo Signes
30
31 (RC0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
32 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
33
34 =head2 Perl 5.16
35
36 Release schedule (with release managers):
37
38   2012-05-20  5.16.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
39   2012-08-08  5.16.1 ✓        Ricardo Signes
40   2012-11-01  5.16.2 ✓        Ricardo Signes
41   2013-03-11  5.16.3 ✓        Ricardo Signes
42   ????-??-??  5.16.4          ??
43
44 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
45
46 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
47 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
48 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
49 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
50
51 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
52 B<must> consent to ship the release.
53
54 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
55 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
56 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
57
58 =head2 Perl 5.19
59
60   2013-05-20  5.19.0          Ricardo Signes
61   2013-06-20  5.19.1          David Golden
62   2013-07-20  5.19.2          Aristotle Pagaltzis
63   2013-08-20  5.19.3          Steve Hay
64   2013-09-20  5.19.4          Steve Hay
65   2013-10-20  5.19.5          Peter Rabbitson
66   2013-11-20  5.19.6          Chris Williams
67   2013-12-20  5.19.7          Abigail
68   2014-01-20  5.19.8          ?
69   2014-02-20  5.19.9          ?
70   2014-03-20  5.19.10         ?
71   2014-04-20  5.20.0-RC1      Ricardo Signes
72
73 =head1 VICTIMS
74
75 The following porters have all consented to do at least
76 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
77 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
78
79 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
80 consent of the Pumpking.)
81
82 Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
83 Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
84 Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
85 Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
86 Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
87 Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
88 David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
89 Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
90 Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
91 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
92 Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
93 Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
94 Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
95 Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
96 Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
97 Stevan Little <stevan.little@iinteractive.com>
98 Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
99 Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
100 Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
101 Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
102 Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
103 Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
104
105 =head1 AUTHOR
106
107 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
108
109 =cut