This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
2ee3a773a8661a3775db8af8fe8b69e0e9cc771c
[perl5.git] / Porting / release_schedule.pod
1 =encoding utf8
2
3 =head1 NAME
4
5 release_schedule - Perl 5 release schedule
6
7 =head1 STABLE RELEASE SCHEDULE
8
9 This schedule lists the projected or historical development and
10 release schedules for the next, current and previous stable versions
11 of Perl.  Dates with two or more question marks will only be releases if
12 deemed necessary by the Pumpking.
13
14 =head2 Perl 5.22
15
16 Code freezes (which happen in the 5.21.X series)
17
18   2015-01-20  5.21.8          Contentious changes freeze
19   2015-02-20  5.21.9          User-visible changes freeze
20   2015-03-20  5.21.10         Full code freeze
21   2015-05-20  5.22.0          Stable release!
22
23 =head2 Perl 5.20
24
25   2014-05-27  5.20.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
26   2014-09-14  5.20.1 ✓        Steve Hay
27   2015-02-14  5.20.2 ✓        Steve Hay
28   2015-??-??  5.20.3          ??
29
30 =head2 Perl 5.18
31
32   2013-05-18  5.18.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
33   2013-08-12  5.18.1 ✓        Ricardo Signes
34   2014-01-06  5.18.2 ✓        Ricardo Signes
35   2014-10-01  5.18.3 ✓        Ricardo Signes
36   2014-10-01  5.18.4 ✓        Ricardo Signes
37   2015-??-??  5.18.5          ??
38
39 =head1 DEVELOPMENT RELEASE SCHEDULE
40
41 This schedule lists the release engineers for at least the next
42 four months of releases of bleadperl. If there are fewer than
43 four months listed as you make a release, it's important
44 that you extend the schedule AND B<identify the next release engineer>.
45
46 Before adding a release engineer, you B<must> contact them and they
47 B<must> consent to ship the release.
48
49 When shipping a release, you should include the schedule for (at least)
50 the next four releases. If a stable version of Perl is released,
51 you should reset the version numbers to the next blead series.
52
53 =head2 Perl 5.21
54
55   2014-05-20  5.21.0 ✓        Ricardo Signes
56   2014-06-20  5.21.1 ✓        Matthew Horsfall
57   2014-07-20  5.21.2 ✓        Abigail
58   2014-08-20  5.21.3 ✓        Peter Martini
59   2014-09-20  5.21.4 ✓        Steve Hay
60   2014-10-20  5.21.5 ✓        Abigail
61   2014-11-20  5.21.6 ✓        Chris "BinGOs" Williams
62   2014-12-20  5.21.7 ✓        Max Maischein
63   2015-01-20  5.21.8 ✓        Matthew Horsfall
64   2015-02-20  5.21.9          Sawyer X
65   2015-03-20  5.21.10         Steve Hay
66   2015-04-20  5.21.11         ?
67
68 (RC0 for 5.22.0 will be released once we think that all the blockers have been
69 addressed.  This typically means some time in April or May.)
70
71 =head1 VICTIMS
72
73 The following porters have all consented to do at least
74 one release of bleadperl.  If you can't do a release
75 and can't find a substitute amongst this list, mail p5p.
76
77 (Please do not add any names to this list without prior
78 consent of the Pumpking.)
79
80 Abigail <abigail@abigail.be>
81 Aristotle Pagaltzis <pagaltzis@gmx.de>
82 Ask Bjørn Hansen <ask@perl.org>
83 Chris Williams <bingos@cpan.org>
84 Dave Cross <dave@perlhacks.com>
85 Dave Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>
86 David Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
87 Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
88 Jesse Luehrs <doy@cpan.org>
89 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
90 Leon Brocard <acme@astray.com>
91 Matt Trout <mst@shadowcat.co.uk>
92 Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>
93 Max Maischein <corion@cpan.org>
94 Peter Martini <petercmartini@gmail.com>
95 Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
96 Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>
97 Stevan Little <stevan.little@iinteractive.com>
98 Steve Hay <steve.m.hay@googlemail.com>
99 Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>
100 Tony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
101 Yves Orton <demerphq@gmail.com>
102 Zefram <zefram@fysh.org>
103 Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avar@cpan.org>
104
105 =head1 AUTHOR
106
107 Jesse Vincent <jesse@cpan.org>
108
109 =cut