perl.git
9 years agoAUTHORS updated
Jesse Vincent [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 19:19:09 +0000 (04:19 +0900)] 
AUTHORS updated

9 years agoBump INSTALL to talk about 5.11.0
Jesse Vincent [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 19:08:26 +0000 (04:08 +0900)] 
Bump INSTALL to talk about 5.11.0

9 years agomake corecpan.pl output a bit more readable
Jesse Vincent [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 18:43:58 +0000 (03:43 +0900)] 
make corecpan.pl output a bit more readable

9 years agoUpdated corecpan.pl for the new module layout
Jesse Vincent [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 18:40:19 +0000 (03:40 +0900)] 
Updated corecpan.pl for the new module layout

9 years agoUpdate from Robin Barker to correct perldelta and Maintainers.pl for Pod-Plainer
Jesse Vincent [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 18:21:57 +0000 (03:21 +0900)] 
Update from Robin Barker to correct perldelta and Maintainers.pl for Pod-Plainer

9 years agoImport CPAN-1.94_51.tar.gz; Begin to rationalize the CPAN.pm layout to mirror the...
Jesse Vincent [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 17:01:29 +0000 (02:01 +0900)] 
Import CPAN-1.94_51.tar.gz; Begin to rationalize the CPAN.pm layout to mirror the dist

9 years agoMove Filter::Util::Call from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 15:32:48 +0000 (16:32 +0100)] 
Move Filter::Util::Call from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove File::Temp from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 15:22:48 +0000 (16:22 +0100)] 
Move File::Temp from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove ExtUtils::Manifest from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 15:14:56 +0000 (16:14 +0100)] 
Move ExtUtils::Manifest from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove ExtUtils::Command from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 14:57:55 +0000 (15:57 +0100)] 
Move ExtUtils::Command from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove encoding::warnings from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 14:42:40 +0000 (15:42 +0100)] 
Move encoding::warnings from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove Digest::SHA from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 14:24:50 +0000 (15:24 +0100)] 
Move Digest::SHA from ext/ to cpan/

Move the shasum binary to the top level, to remove the need for a MAP entry in
Maintainers.PL

9 years agoMove Digest::MD5 from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 14:14:37 +0000 (15:14 +0100)] 
Move Digest::MD5 from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove Digest from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 14:05:33 +0000 (15:05 +0100)] 
Move Digest from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove Compress::Raw::Zlib from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 13:56:12 +0000 (14:56 +0100)] 
Move Compress::Raw::Zlib from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove Compress::Raw::Bzip2 from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 13:31:17 +0000 (14:31 +0100)] 
Move Compress::Raw::Bzip2 from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove CGI from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 13:21:16 +0000 (14:21 +0100)] 
Move CGI from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove bignum from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 13:11:55 +0000 (14:11 +0100)] 
Move bignum from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove B::Lint from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 13:03:29 +0000 (14:03 +0100)] 
Move B::Lint from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove B::Debug from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 12:49:49 +0000 (13:49 +0100)] 
Move B::Debug from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoMove B::Dearpse from ext to dist, as Stephen McCamant says core is canonical.
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 12:32:13 +0000 (13:32 +0100)] 
Move B::Dearpse from ext to dist, as Stephen McCamant says core is canonical.

9 years agoMANIFEST indentation fluffing, and update the description for yadayada.t
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 10:23:09 +0000 (11:23 +0100)] 
MANIFEST indentation fluffing, and update the description for yadayada.t

9 years agoMove t/pod/diag.t to t/porting, as it's really a code consistency test.
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 10:08:11 +0000 (11:08 +0100)] 
Move t/pod/diag.t to t/porting, as it's really a code consistency test.

It was the last test in t/pod, which allows us to remove the directory.

9 years agoMove ExtUtils::MakeMaker from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 09:20:05 +0000 (10:20 +0100)] 
Move ExtUtils::MakeMaker from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoRe: lib, ext, cpan and dist [PATCH] (take 2)
Richard Foley [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 09:13:52 +0000 (10:13 +0100)] 
Re: lib, ext, cpan and dist [PATCH] (take 2)

Message-Id: <200910011047.35459.Richard.Foley@rfi.net>

9 years agoB-Lint is slightly synced from CPAN. bumped to an _ release
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 20:31:11 +0000 (05:31 +0900)] 
B-Lint is slightly synced from CPAN. bumped to an _ release

9 years agoIO has some minor differences from CPAN. Bump to a _ dev version.
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 20:11:05 +0000 (05:11 +0900)] 
IO has some minor differences from CPAN. Bump to a _ dev version.

9 years agoSeveral modules that were ahead in blead got cpan releases today.
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 20:02:47 +0000 (05:02 +0900)] 
Several modules that were ahead in blead got cpan releases today.

9 years agoMath::BigInt has some minor changes since the last cpan release. bump to a dev version
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 20:02:24 +0000 (05:02 +0900)] 
Math::BigInt has some minor changes since the last cpan release. bump to a dev version

9 years agoBump Text-Soundex's version number since the .xs file is slightly ahead of cpan
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 19:47:57 +0000 (04:47 +0900)] 
Bump Text-Soundex's version number since the .xs file is slightly ahead of cpan

9 years agoTime::Local in blead has diverged from CPAN. Update the version number to a dev release
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 19:32:56 +0000 (04:32 +0900)] 
Time::Local in blead has diverged from CPAN. Update the version number to a dev release

An IRC conversation with DROLSKY confirms that we'll need to re-port
Time::Local to non-y2038-safe perl before it becomes dual-life again.

9 years agoMove 3 porting sanity tests from t/lib/ to t/porting/, a more natural home.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 18:12:39 +0000 (19:12 +0100)] 
Move 3 porting sanity tests from t/lib/ to t/porting/, a more natural home.

9 years agodescribe parallel testing in perlhack.pod
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 17:54:27 +0000 (02:54 +0900)] 
describe parallel testing in perlhack.pod

9 years agoMove Locale::Maketext from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 17:54:05 +0000 (18:54 +0100)] 
Move Locale::Maketext from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoCorrect the inconsistencies in the entry for Locale::Maketext::Simple
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 16:57:34 +0000 (17:57 +0100)] 
Correct the inconsistencies in the entry for Locale::Maketext::Simple

Errors accidentally introduced in 3f369777ff34e7a1.

9 years agoCorrect FILES for Switch.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 16:43:24 +0000 (17:43 +0100)] 
Correct FILES for Switch.

9 years agowin32/ext has been gone for a while. don't search it.
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 16:27:25 +0000 (01:27 +0900)] 
win32/ext has been gone for a while. don't search it.

Thanks to Steve Hay

9 years agoUnicode::Collate bumped to 0.52_01
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 16:14:12 +0000 (01:14 +0900)] 
Unicode::Collate bumped to 0.52_01

Unicode::Collate has changes relative to CPAN. Maintainers.PL marks it first-come.

9 years agoFirst steps to making corelist.pl understand the new world order
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 16:06:49 +0000 (01:06 +0900)] 
First steps to making corelist.pl understand the new world order

9 years agoUpdate Pod::Plainer to 1.01 like Maintainers.pl says it is
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 16:02:24 +0000 (01:02 +0900)] 
Update Pod::Plainer to 1.01 like Maintainers.pl says it is

9 years agoEncode is actually version 2.37 from CPAN.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 15:46:24 +0000 (16:46 +0100)] 
Encode is actually version 2.37 from CPAN.

9 years agoconstant is actually 1.19 from CPAN.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 15:44:25 +0000 (16:44 +0100)] 
constant is actually 1.19 from CPAN.

9 years agoMove libnet Net::* to the top level, to mirror the CPAN distribution.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 15:35:43 +0000 (16:35 +0100)] 
Move libnet Net::* to the top level, to mirror the CPAN distribution.

9 years agoFix typo present in "our" Archive::Tar::File but not on CPAN.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 15:19:25 +0000 (16:19 +0100)] 
Fix typo present in "our" Archive::Tar::File but not on CPAN.

How this happened I don't know.

9 years agoNote that the CPAN/CPANPLUS side of deprecating modules from core is still TODO
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 14:56:20 +0000 (15:56 +0100)] 
Note that the CPAN/CPANPLUS side of deprecating modules from core is still TODO

9 years agoClass::ISA and Shell are also deprecated from core.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 14:53:02 +0000 (15:53 +0100)] 
Class::ISA and Shell are also deprecated from core.

9 years agoNote 3 internals changes that need describing.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 14:52:27 +0000 (15:52 +0100)] 
Note 3 internals changes that need describing.

9 years agoRemoved todo section
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 14:42:05 +0000 (23:42 +0900)] 
Removed todo section

9 years agoRemoved a duplicated entry
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 14:41:28 +0000 (23:41 +0900)] 
Removed a duplicated entry

9 years agoPerl 5.11 delta is now up to date
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 14:40:03 +0000 (23:40 +0900)] 
Perl 5.11 delta is now up to date

9 years agoDual life modules maintained in core are in dist/ not ext/
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 14:03:23 +0000 (15:03 +0100)] 
Dual life modules maintained in core are in dist/ not ext/

9 years agoRemoval of a bunch of changes that don't merit perldelta integration
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 13:53:10 +0000 (22:53 +0900)] 
Removal of a bunch of changes that don't merit perldelta integration

9 years agoFurther perldelta scrubbing
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 13:41:25 +0000 (22:41 +0900)] 
Further perldelta scrubbing

9 years agoMore perldelta rototilling.
Jesse Vincent [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 13:20:51 +0000 (22:20 +0900)] 
More perldelta rototilling.

9 years agoMove Unicode::Collate from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 12:25:48 +0000 (13:25 +0100)] 
Move Unicode::Collate from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Unicode::Normalize from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 10:53:43 +0000 (11:53 +0100)] 
Move Unicode::Normalize from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoDoc typo fix
Rafael Garcia-Suarez [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 10:58:57 +0000 (12:58 +0200)] 
Doc typo fix

9 years agoTidy make_ext.pl, particularly the OS-specific code.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 10:05:33 +0000 (11:05 +0100)] 
Tidy make_ext.pl, particularly the OS-specific code.

9 years agoRefactor the code for determining where an extension is on disk.
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 09:46:05 +0000 (10:46 +0100)] 
Refactor the code for determining where an extension is on disk.

9 years agoMove Pod::Perldoc from ext/ to dist/ podder
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 09:33:56 +0000 (10:33 +0100)] 
Move Pod::Perldoc from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Locale::Maketext::Simple from ext/ to dist/ podder2
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 09:12:05 +0000 (10:12 +0100)] 
Move Locale::Maketext::Simple from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMake Pod::Perldoc use PERLDOC_POD2 ENV var
Enrico Sorcinelli [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 07:56:07 +0000 (09:56 +0200)] 
Make Pod::Perldoc use PERLDOC_POD2 ENV var

* The "PERLDOC_POD2" environment variable could be used, to set once, the
preferred translation (instead of using "-L" switch each time).

eg. export PERLDOC_POD2=it

If "PERLDOC_POD2=1", the language code will be auto-retrieved from
locale, that is, from "LC_ALL" "LC_LANG" "LANG" environment variables
respectively.

export PERLDOC_POD2=1

* bug fix: -f switch works correctly with missing translations.
* bug fix: perldoc now correctly works with several translators

9 years agoSimplify building the Perl code invoked for perl -V
Nicholas Clark [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 07:50:25 +0000 (08:50 +0100)] 
Simplify building the Perl code invoked for perl -V

9 years agoAdriano Ferreira prefers blead as upstream
Steffen Mueller [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 07:41:46 +0000 (09:41 +0200)] 
Adriano Ferreira prefers blead as upstream

I'm skipping the entry for Shell.pm since it's going to be deprecated
and should live on CPAN primarily.

9 years agoPod formatting fix
Josh ben Jore [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 21:58:07 +0000 (14:58 -0700)] 
Pod formatting fix

9 years agoPod formatting fix
Roberto C. S�nchez [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 21:54:08 +0000 (14:54 -0700)] 
Pod formatting fix

Signed-off-by: Josh ben Jore <jjore@cpan.org>
9 years agoUpgrade to Class::ISA 0.36 (Fixes installation directories only)
Steffen Mueller [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 20:47:50 +0000 (22:47 +0200)] 
Upgrade to Class::ISA 0.36 (Fixes installation directories only)

9 years agoAdd distribution reference for Pod::Plainer
Steffen Mueller [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 19:29:30 +0000 (21:29 +0200)] 
Add distribution reference for Pod::Plainer

9 years agoRecursively delete all ppport.h files, instead of running mkppport --clean.
Nicholas Clark [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 18:40:05 +0000 (19:40 +0100)] 
Recursively delete all ppport.h files, instead of running mkppport --clean.

mkppport --clean relies on miniperl not yet being deleted, which doesn't always
hold. Idea blatently stolen from Steve Hay's commit 85741d00cbd04edb.

9 years agoRunning "mkppport --clean" at the end of "[nd]make distclean" on Win32
Steve Hay [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 16:51:05 +0000 (17:51 +0100)] 
Running "mkppport --clean" at the end of "[nd]make distclean" on Win32
is more trouble than it's worth: it can't find Getopt::Long, constant,
Pod::Usage or Pod::Text (at least). Just recursively delete all ppport.h
files instead, given that there aren't any in the distribution.

9 years agoOn Win32, load File::Spec::Functions before chdir()ing somewhere where the
Steve Hay [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 16:28:04 +0000 (17:28 +0100)] 
On Win32, load File::Spec::Functions before chdir()ing somewhere where the
relative paths in @INC don't work.

9 years agoMove the implementation of ./perl -V to Internals::V and Config::_V
Nicholas Clark [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 14:52:24 +0000 (15:52 +0100)] 
Move the implementation of ./perl -V to Internals::V and Config::_V

Previously it was a Perl program generated by code embedded in perl.c, with
conditional compilation logic, hence a combination of C pre-processor, C and
Perl.

9 years agoOnly require File::Spec::Functions on Win32, as only it needs rel2abs().
Nicholas Clark [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 15:23:37 +0000 (16:23 +0100)] 
Only require File::Spec::Functions on Win32, as only it needs rel2abs().

This seems easier than changing @INC so that it loads, but causing all other
platforms to have to load a module they don't need.

9 years agoPut a watchdog on openpid.t: it has been found to hang in some Win32 smokes.
Steve Hay [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 14:41:46 +0000 (15:41 +0100)] 
Put a watchdog on openpid.t: it has been found to hang in some Win32 smokes.

9 years agoFix distclean on Win32
Steve Hay [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 14:41:06 +0000 (15:41 +0100)] 
Fix distclean on Win32

nmake realclean in the Encode sub-dirs didn't work because it needed an
extra ../ on the relative paths in @INC. Make the paths absolute instead.

nmake realclean in DynaLoader didn't work either because it tried to make
DynaLoader.c... three times. Move the loop over @ext out of the loop over
@dirs to fix the repetitions, but don't add DynaLoader.c anyway when just
making a 'clean' target.

Also clean up the XSLoader.pm that gets left behind.

9 years agoMove XSLoader from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 16:51:49 +0000 (17:51 +0100)] 
Move XSLoader from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove threads::shared from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 16:39:01 +0000 (17:39 +0100)] 
Move threads::shared from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove threads from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 16:26:37 +0000 (17:26 +0100)] 
Move threads from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Thread::Semaphore from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 16:13:24 +0000 (17:13 +0100)] 
Move Thread::Semaphore from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Thread::Queue from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 16:00:50 +0000 (17:00 +0100)] 
Move Thread::Queue from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Switch from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 15:46:59 +0000 (16:46 +0100)] 
Move Switch from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove SelfLoader from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 15:30:53 +0000 (16:30 +0100)] 
Move SelfLoader from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Safe from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 15:13:11 +0000 (16:13 +0100)] 
Move Safe from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Pod::Plainer from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 15:01:01 +0000 (16:01 +0100)] 
Move Pod::Plainer from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Net::Ping from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 14:48:08 +0000 (15:48 +0100)] 
Move Net::Ping from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Module::CoreList from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 14:35:36 +0000 (15:35 +0100)] 
Move Module::CoreList from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove lib from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 14:11:36 +0000 (15:11 +0100)] 
Move lib from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove IO from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 13:58:16 +0000 (14:58 +0100)] 
Move IO from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove I18N::LangTags from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 13:44:14 +0000 (14:44 +0100)] 
Move I18N::LangTags from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Filter::Simple from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 13:28:12 +0000 (14:28 +0100)] 
Move Filter::Simple from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove ExtUtils::Install from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 13:14:43 +0000 (14:14 +0100)] 
Move ExtUtils::Install from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove Data::Dumper from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 13:01:51 +0000 (14:01 +0100)] 
Move Data::Dumper from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove constant from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 12:49:33 +0000 (13:49 +0100)] 
Move constant from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoMove base from ext/ to dist/
Nicholas Clark [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 12:23:38 +0000 (13:23 +0100)] 
Move base from ext/ to dist/

9 years agoUse a non-development version for Cwd because XSLoader tests don't like those
Steffen Mueller [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 07:54:53 +0000 (09:54 +0200)] 
Use a non-development version for Cwd because XSLoader tests don't like those

9 years agoAdd Cwd/PathTools to mkppport.lst
Steffen Mueller [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 06:29:40 +0000 (08:29 +0200)] 
Add Cwd/PathTools to mkppport.lst

9 years agoremove Cwd/PathTools Makefile.PL from core
Steffen Mueller [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 06:28:37 +0000 (08:28 +0200)] 
remove Cwd/PathTools Makefile.PL from core

9 years agoUpgrade to PathTools 3.30_02 (with only core reorganization fixes)
Steffen Mueller [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 06:27:02 +0000 (08:27 +0200)] 
Upgrade to PathTools 3.30_02 (with only core reorganization fixes)

9 years agoMove Cwd from ext/ to cpan/
Nicholas Clark [Sun, 27 Sep 2009 09:09:53 +0000 (10:09 +0100)] 
Move Cwd from ext/ to cpan/

9 years agoFix when( scalar ... ) bug
Josh ben Jore [Wed, 23 Sep 2009 22:35:14 +0000 (15:35 -0700)] 
Fix when( scalar ... ) bug

looks_like_bool should look past scalar(). Prior to this fix, saying
scalar() caused the when() argument to be /not/ a boolean even if it
reasonably was. Perhaps something like: when( scalar /$re/ ). I don't
know any natural way someone is doing to use when(scalar ...) but it
certainly seems like it was mistakenly left out.