perl.git
6 years agofix typo in comment
Lukas Mai [Mon, 12 Nov 2012 17:21:28 +0000 (18:21 +0100)] 
fix typo in comment

6 years agomore dTHX optimizations
Daniel Dragan [Mon, 12 Nov 2012 08:22:12 +0000 (03:22 -0500)] 
more dTHX optimizations

Either delay fetching of the context, or move the declaration close to the
first usage point, or remove the dependency on a context.

6 years agoadd items checking to Internals::SvREFCNT
Daniel Dragan [Sat, 10 Nov 2012 17:49:38 +0000 (12:49 -0500)] 
add items checking to Internals::SvREFCNT

Add item count checking to Internals::SvREFCNT in case prototype is
bypassed. Getting rid of the undef saves some instructions. Reading
SvREFCNT(sv) only once save an instruction.

6 years agoclean up the users of PL_no_mem
Daniel Dragan [Mon, 12 Nov 2012 14:19:10 +0000 (06:19 -0800)] 
clean up the users of PL_no_mem

This commit eliminates a couple strlen()s of a literal. "Out of memory!\n"
and PL_no_mem did not string pool on Visual C, so PL_no_mem was given a
length. This commit removes S_write_no_mem and replaces it with nonstatic.
Perl_croak_no_mem was made nocontext to save instructions in it's callers.
NORETURN_FUNCTION_END caused a syntax error on Visual C C++ mode and
therefore was removed.

6 years agoMerge branch 'debugger-refactoring' into blead
Ricardo Signes [Mon, 12 Nov 2012 14:21:01 +0000 (09:21 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'debugger-refactoring' into blead

6 years agoSmall cleanups.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 7 Nov 2012 22:37:51 +0000 (00:37 +0200)] 
Small cleanups.

6 years agoConvert to a lexical file handle.
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 3 Nov 2012 20:47:49 +0000 (22:47 +0200)] 
Convert to a lexical file handle.

6 years ago[perl5db] unless+eq --> ne.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 29 Oct 2012 09:08:54 +0000 (11:08 +0200)] 
[perl5db] unless+eq --> ne.

6 years ago[perl5db] Refactored cmd_b_sub.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 29 Oct 2012 08:56:53 +0000 (10:56 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Refactored cmd_b_sub.

6 years agoperl5db: extract some subroutines.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 16:47:09 +0000 (18:47 +0200)] 
perl5db: extract some subroutines.

6 years agoExtract a closure.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 16:29:25 +0000 (18:29 +0200)] 
Extract a closure.

6 years agoConvert DB::system to _db_system.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 16:04:10 +0000 (18:04 +0200)] 
Convert DB::system to _db_system.

6 years agoRemove some declared but unused lexicals.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 15:48:37 +0000 (17:48 +0200)] 
Remove some declared but unused lexicals.

6 years agoConvert from DB::warn to _db_warn.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 15:37:51 +0000 (17:37 +0200)] 
Convert from DB::warn to _db_warn.

This way we are not abusing a built-in. The old DB::warn was kept in for
backwards compatibility.

6 years agoGot rid of leading ampersands in sub calls.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 14:48:23 +0000 (16:48 +0200)] 
Got rid of leading ampersands in sub calls.

6 years agoFinish the refactoring into cmd_verb and cmd_args.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 16 Oct 2012 15:48:35 +0000 (17:48 +0200)] 
Finish the refactoring into cmd_verb and cmd_args.

6 years agoConvert up to _DB__handle_y_command to cmd_args.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 16 Oct 2012 09:05:10 +0000 (11:05 +0200)] 
Convert up to _DB__handle_y_command to cmd_args.

6 years agoConvert more to the ->cmd_args() method.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 16 Oct 2012 08:50:03 +0000 (10:50 +0200)] 
Convert more to the ->cmd_args() method.

6 years agoExtract _is_full().
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 18:48:12 +0000 (20:48 +0200)] 
Extract _is_full().

6 years agoMore refactoring into cmd_args.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 17:53:27 +0000 (19:53 +0200)] 
More refactoring into cmd_args.

6 years agoRefactor some more command-handlers.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 15:34:00 +0000 (17:34 +0200)] 
Refactor some more command-handlers.

6 years agoStart converting to cmd_args.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 14:57:44 +0000 (16:57 +0200)] 
Start converting to cmd_args.

This is the string of arguments that follows the verb of the command,
and can be used instead of matching the command again.

6 years agoRefactoring: more renaming and lexicalising.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 10:28:29 +0000 (12:28 +0200)] 
Refactoring: more renaming and lexicalising.

Some variables need not be placed inside cmd_verb.

6 years agoRename "i" as cmd_verb.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 10:14:30 +0000 (12:14 +0200)] 
Rename "i" as cmd_verb.

It is a more representative name.

6 years agoPass $obj to _DB__trim_command*.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 10:03:39 +0000 (12:03 +0200)] 
Pass $obj to _DB__trim_command*.

We are about to enhance it with further enhancements.

6 years ago_handle_cmd_wrapper_commands to %cmd_lookup.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 14 Oct 2012 14:32:47 +0000 (16:32 +0200)] 
_handle_cmd_wrapper_commands to %cmd_lookup.

This is part of the ongoing perl5db.pl refactoring.

6 years agoRemove extraneous =cut-s from the POD.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 14 Oct 2012 11:36:47 +0000 (13:36 +0200)] 
Remove extraneous =cut-s from the POD.

6 years agoLow hanging fruit is now in %cmd_lookup.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 14 Oct 2012 11:22:45 +0000 (13:22 +0200)] 
Low hanging fruit is now in %cmd_lookup.

6 years agoMove more commands to the dispatch.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 14 Oct 2012 11:09:05 +0000 (13:09 +0200)] 
Move more commands to the dispatch.

6 years agoAdd more commands to the lookup table.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 14 Oct 2012 10:56:53 +0000 (12:56 +0200)] 
Add more commands to the lookup table.

6 years agoStart converting to %cmd_lookup.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 14 Oct 2012 10:35:19 +0000 (12:35 +0200)] 
Start converting to %cmd_lookup.

This is a dispatch table for the commands based on their command
component.

6 years agoPass $obj to _DB__handle_f_command.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 14 Oct 2012 10:04:31 +0000 (12:04 +0200)] 
Pass $obj to _DB__handle_f_command.

For consistency with the other commands.

6 years agoExtract _handle_cmd_wrapper_commands.
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 13 Oct 2012 18:25:28 +0000 (20:25 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_cmd_wrapper_commands.

6 years agoExtract _handle_q_command .
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 13 Oct 2012 17:36:17 +0000 (19:36 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_q_command .

6 years agoExtract the CMD: continue() into a subroutine.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 11 Oct 2012 13:33:57 +0000 (15:33 +0200)] 
Extract the CMD: continue() into a subroutine.

6 years agoExtract _DB__handle_m_command.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 11 Oct 2012 12:22:47 +0000 (14:22 +0200)] 
Extract _DB__handle_m_command.

6 years agoExtract _handle_x_command.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 11 Oct 2012 09:14:18 +0000 (11:14 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_x_command.

6 years agoConvert from ^ to \A.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 11 Oct 2012 08:29:36 +0000 (10:29 +0200)] 
Convert from ^ to \A.

This is part of the debugger refactoring.

6 years agoFix indentation.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 10 Oct 2012 19:37:57 +0000 (21:37 +0200)] 
Fix indentation.

6 years agoperl5db: &cmd_wrapper -> cmd_wrapper().
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 10 Oct 2012 19:26:21 +0000 (21:26 +0200)] 
perl5db: &cmd_wrapper -> cmd_wrapper().

Leading ampersand is not needed.

6 years agoCorrect a bug with #g in list context.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 10 Oct 2012 18:51:51 +0000 (20:51 +0200)] 
Correct a bug with #g in list context.

It does not work properly there - one should use $1 / etc.

6 years agoperl5db: extract more into _handle_sh_command.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 10 Oct 2012 18:13:46 +0000 (20:13 +0200)] 
perl5db: extract more into _handle_sh_command.

6 years agoavoid overriding prototypes when the call can be fixed
Ricardo Signes [Wed, 10 Oct 2012 01:57:14 +0000 (21:57 -0400)] 
avoid overriding prototypes when the call can be fixed

We don't need to call share with an ampersand.  We can just call it in
the way its prototype implies.  While we're at it, we can fix the
prototype that we use when threads::shared can't be loaded.  Also,
there's no need to fake up lock, because it's already a do-nothing weak
keyword without threads.

6 years agocorrect the documented value of ${"_<$fn"}
Ricardo Signes [Tue, 9 Oct 2012 14:47:24 +0000 (10:47 -0400)] 
correct the documented value of ${"_<$fn"}

6 years agofix two small typos in MANIFEST updates
Ricardo Signes [Tue, 9 Oct 2012 14:47:10 +0000 (10:47 -0400)] 
fix two small typos in MANIFEST updates

6 years agoAdd ampersand to share.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 9 Oct 2012 18:58:45 +0000 (20:58 +0200)] 
Add ampersand to share.

We need it to override the prototype and pass a variable by reference.

Thanks to RJBS who reported that. That fixed the tests with -Dusethreads
(thanks to Leon Timmermans).

6 years agoperl5db: extract _handle_sh_sh_command().
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 9 Oct 2012 16:50:42 +0000 (18:50 +0200)] 
perl5db: extract _handle_sh_sh_command().

6 years agoGet rid of a leading ampersand.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 8 Oct 2012 17:59:00 +0000 (19:59 +0200)] 
Get rid of a leading ampersand.

6 years agoRefactoring - merged the two n/s cases.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 8 Oct 2012 17:40:48 +0000 (19:40 +0200)] 
Refactoring - merged the two n/s cases.

6 years agoExtract a common method.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 8 Oct 2012 13:32:24 +0000 (15:32 +0200)] 
Extract a common method.

6 years agoExtract _handle_[sn]_and_arg_commands.
Shlomi Fish [Mon, 8 Oct 2012 13:15:07 +0000 (15:15 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_[sn]_and_arg_commands.

6 years ago[perl5db] Remove unnecessary code.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 22:12:13 +0000 (00:12 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Remove unnecessary code.

We already handled the "t" command. This was detected during
refactoring.

6 years agoExtract _DB__handle_run_command_in_pager_command.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 13:26:57 +0000 (15:26 +0200)] 
Extract _DB__handle_run_command_in_pager_command.

6 years agoExtract _DB__handle_restart_and_rerun_commands().
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 10:51:20 +0000 (12:51 +0200)] 
Extract _DB__handle_restart_and_rerun_commands().

6 years agoExtract _handle_save_command.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 10:41:36 +0000 (12:41 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_save_command.

6 years agoExtract _handle_enable_disable_commands .
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 10:33:12 +0000 (12:33 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_enable_disable_commands .

6 years agoExtract _handle_source_command.
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 10:11:45 +0000 (12:11 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_source_command.

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract _handle_equal_sign_command .
Shlomi Fish [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 10:01:21 +0000 (12:01 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract _handle_equal_sign_command .

6 years agoExtract _handle_p_command.
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 14:47:39 +0000 (16:47 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_p_command.

6 years agoExtract _handle_doc_command.
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 14:23:35 +0000 (16:23 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_doc_command.

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract _handle_H_command.
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 12:33:41 +0000 (14:33 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract _handle_H_command.

6 years ago[perldb] Extract _handle_rc_search_history_command.
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 11:33:34 +0000 (13:33 +0200)] 
[perldb] Extract _handle_rc_search_history_command.

6 years agoAdd quotes.
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 11:19:27 +0000 (13:19 +0200)] 
Add quotes.

Without quotes the vim syntax was broken.

6 years ago[perl5db] Get rid of leading ampersands.
Shlomi Fish [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 11:04:39 +0000 (13:04 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Get rid of leading ampersands.

6 years ago[perl5db] Avoid some trailing expressions.
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 14:48:46 +0000 (16:48 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Avoid some trailing expressions.

6 years ago[perl5db] Remove leading ampersands in sub call.
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 14:28:25 +0000 (16:28 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Remove leading ampersands in sub call.

6 years agoAdd a reminder comment;
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 11:07:11 +0000 (13:07 +0200)] 
Add a reminder comment;

6 years agoExtract _handle_rc_recall_command.
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 10:59:48 +0000 (12:59 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_rc_recall_command.

6 years agoExtract _DB__handle_question_mark_command() .
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 09:40:34 +0000 (11:40 +0200)] 
Extract _DB__handle_question_mark_command() .

6 years agoExtract _DB__handle_forward_slash_command().
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 09:16:32 +0000 (11:16 +0200)] 
Extract _DB__handle_forward_slash_command().

Converted away from string eval in the process.

6 years agoExtract _handle_W_command .
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 06:01:50 +0000 (08:01 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_W_command .

6 years agoExtract _handle_w_command.
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 05:54:30 +0000 (07:54 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_w_command.

6 years agoExtract _handle_T_command.
Shlomi Fish [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 05:43:31 +0000 (07:43 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_T_command.

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract _handle_r_command.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 18:29:48 +0000 (20:29 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract _handle_r_command.

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract _handle_c_command.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 18:09:40 +0000 (20:09 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract _handle_c_command.

6 years agoExtract _handle_s_command and refactored.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 17:42:08 +0000 (19:42 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_s_command and refactored.

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract _handle_n_command.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 17:30:17 +0000 (19:30 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract _handle_n_command.

6 years agoExtract _DB__handle_y_command .
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 17:16:28 +0000 (19:16 +0200)] 
Extract _DB__handle_y_command .

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract $obj->_handle_dash_command.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 17:03:57 +0000 (19:03 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract $obj->_handle_dash_command.

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract another function.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 16:41:13 +0000 (18:41 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract another function.

6 years agoExtract _DB__handle_f_command.
Shlomi Fish [Thu, 4 Oct 2012 14:38:45 +0000 (16:38 +0200)] 
Extract _DB__handle_f_command.

6 years agoExtract _handle_V_command_and_X_command.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 3 Oct 2012 13:28:29 +0000 (15:28 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_V_command_and_X_command.

6 years agoExtract _handle_S_command.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 3 Oct 2012 13:04:43 +0000 (15:04 +0200)] 
Extract _handle_S_command.

6 years agoFix "a [command]" statement.
Shlomi Fish [Wed, 3 Oct 2012 12:28:28 +0000 (14:28 +0200)] 
Fix "a [command]" statement.

Without a line number. See:

https://rt.perl.org/rt3/Ticket/Display.html?id=115110 .

6 years ago$slave_editor → our.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 17:37:19 +0000 (19:37 +0200)] 
$slave_editor → our.

6 years agoPlaced declarations on one line and sorted.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 17:09:40 +0000 (19:09 +0200)] 
Placed declarations on one line and sorted.

6 years agoMore variables to our.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 17:00:13 +0000 (19:00 +0200)] 
More variables to our.

6 years ago[perl5db] Convert more global vars to our.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 16:34:52 +0000 (18:34 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Convert more global vars to our.

6 years ago[perl5db] Convert variables to our.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 16:15:48 +0000 (18:15 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Convert variables to our.

This helps avoid calling them with $DB::var_name.

6 years agoRefactoring - convert $trace to our.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 16:05:21 +0000 (18:05 +0200)] 
Refactoring - convert $trace to our.

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract a method.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 15:59:07 +0000 (17:59 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract a method.

6 years ago[perl5db] Refactoring.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 15:47:27 +0000 (17:47 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Refactoring.

6 years agoperl5db: extract a function.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 15:13:21 +0000 (17:13 +0200)] 
perl5db: extract a function.

6 years ago[perl5db] Convert tabs to spaces.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 14:15:32 +0000 (16:15 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Convert tabs to spaces.

6 years agoperl5db: fix some indentation that was off.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 14:05:45 +0000 (16:05 +0200)] 
perl5db: fix some indentation that was off.

6 years ago[perl5db] Extract a function in the condition.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 13:57:13 +0000 (15:57 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Extract a function in the condition.

6 years agoConvert comma-separated expressions to do{}.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 13:48:57 +0000 (15:48 +0200)] 
Convert comma-separated expressions to do{}.

6 years agoperl5db: remove leading ampersand.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 13:31:53 +0000 (15:31 +0200)] 
perl5db: remove leading ampersand.

6 years ago[perl5db] extract a subroutine.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 13:22:02 +0000 (15:22 +0200)] 
[perl5db] extract a subroutine.

6 years ago[perl5db] Missed one.
Shlomi Fish [Tue, 2 Oct 2012 12:46:14 +0000 (14:46 +0200)] 
[perl5db] Missed one.