Configure should sort inc_version_list
authorAndy Dougherty <doughera@lafayette.edu>
Thu, 16 Jul 2009 20:52:39 +0000 (13:52 -0700)
committerDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Sat, 18 Jul 2009 21:17:40 +0000 (22:17 +0100)
In searching for previous versions of perl, Configure
forgets to sort the directories according to version number,
so 5.10 sorts later than 5.8.

Specifically, without this patch, you'd get something like:

    inc_version_list='5.8.9 5.8.8 5.10.0/i686-linux 5.10.0'

i.e. 5.10.0 would be searched *after* 5.8.8.

With this patch, you get something like:

    inc_version_list='5.10.0/i686-linux 5.10.0 5.8.9 5.8.8'

(cherry picked from commit a71f1801ba6371e2eebdcb98a2263de5d6b9a8fd)

Configure

index 3b6efb4..185d6b6 100755 (executable)
--- a/Configure
+++ b/Configure
@@ -6529,6 +6529,7 @@ if (-d $stem) {
     chdir($stem);
     ;@candidates = map {
        [ $_, pack "sss", split m/[._]/, "$_.0.0" ] } glob("5.*");
+    ;@candidates = sort { $a->[1] cmp $b->[1]} @candidates;
 }
 else {
     ;@candidates = ();