Remove notes about -v from perltodo
authorRafael Garcia-Suarez <rgarciasuarez@gmail.com>
Tue, 6 Jan 2009 08:01:37 +0000 (09:01 +0100)
committerDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Sat, 11 Apr 2009 15:50:32 +0000 (16:50 +0100)
(cherry picked from commit 87dd31c8809837f26b4fbbd9d8b99ccdc65e6deb)

pod/perltodo.pod

index 11a897c..7e27d1e 100644 (file)
@@ -461,28 +461,6 @@ is currently no guarantee that passing no use64bitall option to the
 Configure process will build a 32bit perl. Implementing -Duse32bit*
 options would be nice for perl 5.12.
 
-=head2 Make it clear from -v if this is the exact official release
-
-Currently perl from C<p4>/C<rsync> ships with a F<patchlevel.h> file that
-usually defines one local patch, of the form "MAINT12345" or "RC1". The output
-of perl -v doesn't report that a perl isn't an official release, and this
-information can get lost in bugs reports. Because of this, the minor version
-isn't bumped up until RC time, to minimise the possibility of versions of perl
-escaping that believe themselves to be newer than they actually are.
-
-It would be useful to find an elegant way to have the "this is an interim
-maintenance release" or "this is a release candidate" in the terse -v output,
-and have it so that it's easy for the pumpking to remove this just as the
-release tarball is rolled up. This way the version pulled out of rsync would
-always say "I'm a development release" and it would be safe to bump the
-reported minor version as soon as a release ships, which would aid perl
-developers.
-
-This task is really about thinking of an elegant way to arrange the C source
-such that it's trivial for the Pumpking to flag "this is an official release"
-when making a tarball, yet leave the default source saying "I'm not the
-official release".
-
 =head2 Profile Perl - am I hot or not?
 
 The Perl source code is stable enough that it makes sense to profile it,