utf8: Remove unused variable (%utf8::enc).
authorBrian Fraser <fraserbn@gmail.com>
Tue, 14 May 2013 07:57:19 +0000 (04:57 -0300)
committerJames E Keenan <jkeenan@cpan.org>
Sun, 19 May 2013 21:05:35 +0000 (17:05 -0400)
In its original implementation in perl 5.6, 'use utf8' accepted
an encoding argument, which was saved in %utf8::enc and later
used by utf8_heavy.pl to load the right files from lib/unico[rd]e.

However, since 5.8 (or more specifically, 15732964418f),
utf8_heavy.pl stopped using that variable, so there's no reason
to keep it around in utf8.pm.

Bump $VERSION in lib/utf8.pm.

lib/utf8.pm

index 1d6992c..a232091 100644 (file)
@@ -2,11 +2,10 @@ package utf8;
 
 $utf8::hint_bits = 0x00800000;
 
-our $VERSION = '1.10';
+our $VERSION = '1.11';
 
 sub import {
     $^H |= $utf8::hint_bits;
-    $enc{caller()} = $_[1] if $_[1];
 }
 
 sub unimport {