make -s: silent means silent
authorReini Urban <rurban@cpanel.net>
Mon, 9 Feb 2015 08:41:43 +0000 (09:41 +0100)
committerTony Cook <tony@develop-help.com>
Wed, 14 Oct 2015 03:27:12 +0000 (14:27 +1100)
check MAKEFLAGS for -s|--silent|--quiet and honor it

make_ext.pl

index 1b055c3..f6d9e0f 100644 (file)
@@ -612,6 +612,7 @@ sub just_pm_to_blib {
     my ($first) = $mname =~ /^([^:]+)/;
 
     my $pm_to_blib = IS_VMS ? 'pm_to_blib.ts' : 'pm_to_blib';
+    my $silent = defined $ENV{MAKEFLAGS} and $ENV{MAKEFLAGS} =~ /\b(s|silent|quiet)\b/;
 
     foreach my $leaf (<*>) {
         if (-d $leaf) {
@@ -656,7 +657,8 @@ sub just_pm_to_blib {
     die "Inconsistent module $mname has both lib/ and $first/"
         if $has_lib && $has_topdir;
 
-    print "\nRunning pm_to_blib for $ext_dir directly\n";
+    print "\nRunning pm_to_blib for $ext_dir directly\n"
+      unless $silent;
 
     my %pm;
     if ($has_top) {