perldelta: Some char names now obsoleted
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Thu, 16 Feb 2012 02:22:37 +0000 (19:22 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Thu, 16 Feb 2012 02:24:49 +0000 (19:24 -0700)
Since I wrote the revision to perldelta about changing the names for the
four controls whose previous preferred name each contained parentheses,
the Unicode Technical Committee has voted to mark the old names as
obsolete.  This just updates the text to reflect that.

pod/perldelta.pod

index b316025..e42bf90 100644 (file)
@@ -129,8 +129,8 @@ previously given them, by replacing the final blank in each name by a
 hyphen.  Unicode also officially accepts names that Perl had deprecated,
 such as FILE SEPARATOR.  Now the only deprecated name is BELL.
 Finally, Perl now uses the new official names instead of the old
-recommended names for the first four code points in the list above (the
-ones which have the parentheses in them).
+(now considered obsolete) names for the first four code points in the
+list above (the ones which have the parentheses in them).
 
 Now that the names have been placed in the Unicode standard, these kinds
 of changes should not happen again, though corrections, such as to